| 7.7°C Dublin

Temp Head

DUBLIN will hope to claim their 31st provincial title when they encounter near neighbours Meath in the Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football Championship Final at Croke Park tomorrow.

In a repeat of last year's decider in which the Dubs prevailed by 2-18 to 1-11, tomorrow's renewal between unquestionably the two best teams in the province shows signs of a closer run affair.

Both teams have progressed seamlessly through Leinster with Meath improving game-by-game to initially record wins over Longford and Offaly before pulling away at the death to comprehensively overcome Westmeath by 13 points a fortnight ago.

A feature of their campaign to date has been their ability to plunder goals at the most opportune time, with Barry Dardis' instinctive finishing helping the Summerhill player to five of the Royal County's seven goals to date.

Their scoring threat is far from limited to Dardis with 12 players having contributed in their three games to date and Dublin will need to be diligent in tracking the marauding runs of wing-backs Peter Kennelly and Ruairí Ó Coileáin. That shouldn't be a concern given the maturity of their displays to date and there was much to admire in the manner this relatively inexperienced selection imposed themselves against Kildare in their comfortable semi-final win in Newbridge ten days ago.

Dual players Conor McHugh and Cormac Costello grabbed the headlines that evening, sharing 2-6 from play and a similar performance from both tomorrow should see them add to their hurling medals they secured against Wexford earlier in the month.

Whether they're allowed to wreak such havoc will depend largely on the supply provided to them over the hour and in that respect, the roaming of Niall Walsh, Gavin Burke and Maitias Mac Donncha will be pivotal in securing that all-important primary possession.

As Dublin manager Dessie Farrell stressed during the week, any meetings between these counties tend to have a life of their own but Dublin are given a tentative vote to repeat last year's success, by a tighter margin of victory.

DUBLIN (probable): L Molloy; E Mullan, D Byrne, R McGowan; E Lowndes, C Mulally, M Mac Donncha; Stephen Cunningham, S Carthy; R Gaughan, G Burke, N Walsh; C McHugh, C Costello, N Scully.

MEATH: J Hannigan; D Smyth, B Power, S Gallagher, P Kennelly, S McEntee, R Ó Coileáin; A Flanagan, P Harnan; C O'Sullivan, J Daly, J McEntee; B Dardis, S Coogan, F Ward.