| 6.4°C Dublin

seven heaven for

A SEVEN-GOAL haul at Pearse College Crumlin shot down the home side and fired IT Carlow 'B' into the top spot in Division One Group D ahead of IT Tallaght on goal difference and sets them up nicely to make the knock out stages later this month.

The talented IT Carlow second squad are the current title holders and this display clearly puts them in the frame to go on and retain their crown for another season.

Manager Luke Hardy reckons his side can go all the way again and capture another title.

"We're lucky to have such a fine group of players currently at Carlow, hopefully we can push on and achieve some further success this season.

"While I'm also confident many of this squad will certainly challenge for places on our Premier League side pretty soon too," pointed out Hardy.

Carlow went about their business from early on and were in front after only five minutes and quickly added a second before Pearse had time to catch their breath.

The third followed on the half hour mark and it remained at 3-0 until the break giving Pearse a little respite and a chance to may'be rescue something on the resumption.

But it wasn't to be as Carlow clearly proved to be the much stronger and experienced outfit and the goals continued to reign in despite the best efforts of Pearse to stem the flow.

Neil Heffernan got Carlow off to a flying start with the opener on five minutes on a perfect pitch in the college grounds on Clogher Rd.

Evan Rogers had forced a corner with a strong burst into the home box and Heffernan was on hand to beat goalkeeper Eoghan Farrell in the goalmouth scramble following Bevan Van Dyke's well placed corner kick.

Heffernan struck again minutes later for his second when he cooly side footed the ball in off the post ball past the helpless Farrell from a perfect Conor Keddy left wing cross with the Pearse defenders all marked absent.

Pearse struggled to get into the game and Sean Maher and David Doyle found the going tough trying to match the Carlow in midfield where Ethan O'Neill and Uros Iukovic stood out.

Farrell had saved well from Adam O'Rourke and Keddy before Carlow stretched their advantage with a third goal on 27 minutes.

The Pearse 'keeper got down smartly to turn a stringing Heffernan drive out for a corner but was helpless to prevent centre back Andrew Wall powering home a powerful header from Keddy's perfectly placed delivery.

Despite plenty of effort the home side were totally out played after the break as Carlow boosted their goal difference over nearest rivals IT Tallaght with four further scores.

Farrell continued to have a busy day keeping out efforts from Keddy and O'Neill but unfortunately the Pearse 'keeper was beaten once again on 55 minutes.

O'Rourke did the damage with a neat finish from close in after a surging run from midfield by Iukovic set him up.

Minutes later it was 5-0 with substitute John Morgan shooting home off the cross bar and post.

Morgan then went on to make it 6-0 after getting the better of centre back Elvis Vucaj to fire home.

The seventh arrived just close to the finish from another substitute Conor O'Brien with a simple tap in from Heffernan's cross.

Pearse are a side in transition having lost many of last seasons' squad including quality players like Danny McGuinness and Colm Notaro.

Although outplayed for most of the game manager John O'Connor will hope they can quickly put this heavy defeat behind them and gear themselves up for a possible cup run in the coming weeks.

Full marks to referee Brendan Coleman for his handling of the game that was played in such an excellent spirit throughout and especially for the little words of encouragement he gave to the players during it.

PEARSE COLLEGE: Eoghan Farrell; Shane Lambe, Aaron Kenna, Elvis Vucaj, Kyle Mates; Graham Kikbery, Sean Maher, David Doyle, Philip Ward, Cian Maher; Dillon Kelly.

Subs: Daryl Thomas (for Kelly 60 mins), Luke Ogden (for C Maher 60 mins).

IT CARLOW 'B': Eoin Comerford; Evan Rogers, Andrew Wall, Stephen Moloney, Rafa Cabinski; Bevan Van Dyke, Ethan O'Neill, Neil Heffernan, Uros Iukovic, Conor Keddy; Adam O'Rourke.

Subs: Aaron Rafter (for Van Dyke 60 mins), John Morgan (for O'Rourke 60 mins), Ronan Doherty (for Iukovic 60 mins), Daniel Molloy (for Wall 68 mins), Conor O'Brien (for O'Neill 68 mins).

Not used: Shaun O'Donnell.

REFEREE: Brendan Coleman (pictured).

PEARSE COLLEGE..........................0

IT CARLOW B...............................7