| 0.2°C Dublin

Richardson believes Joe is no Gamble

FORMER Ireland cap Joe Gamble has won a place in the Airtricity League squad to face Manchester City, Celtic and Inter Milan in Dublin next month without playing a single game in the league this season, writes AIDAN FITZMAURICE.

Midfielder Gamble was last week unveiled as a new signing for Division One side Limerick FC, moving from Hartlepool United along with Denis Behan, and he will make his debut at home to Mervue United on Friday night. However, Damien Richardson, manager of the Airtrcity XI team which plays in the Dublin Super Cup, is so sure of his quality that he's pitched him straight into the squad.

Gamble is one of only two players from the First Division in the 35-man provisional squad, along with Cork City defender Danny Murphy.

"I'm confident we'll be capable of competing with Celtic and Manchester City in this tournament, which I feel has captured the imagination of the Irish sporting public," says Richardson.

"I've already spoken to some of the boys and I know how thrilled they are to be taking part in a game that will be broadcast around the world and already I sense a mood of anticipation and determination building."

Richardson has not called on any players from Sligo Rovers as they will be preparing for their Europa League third round tie at the time, though progress in Europe for Shamrock Rovers, Bohemians or St Pats could also deprive Richardson of players.

AirtrIcity League squad

Keepers: Ger Doherty (Derry City), Gary Rogers (St Patrick's Athletic), Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers)

Defenders: Pat Sullivan (Shamrock Rovers), Owen Heary (Bohemians), Simon Madden (Dundalk), Stewart Greacen, Shane McEleney (Derry City), Colin Hawkins (Dundalk), Dan Murray, Craig Sives, Ken Oman (Shamrock Rovers), Danny Murphy (Cork City), Daniel Lafferty (Derry City)

Midfielders: Daniel Kearns (Dundalk), Gareth McGlynn (Derry City), Daryl Kavanagh (St Patrick's Athletic), Gary McCabe (Shamrock Rovers), Barry Molloy, Ruaidhri Higgins (Derry City), Joe Gamble (Limerick), Gary Dempsey (Bray Wanderers), Dave Mulcahy (St Patrick's Athletic), Dean Bennett (Dundalk), Ronan Finn, Conor McCormack, Stephen Rice (Shamrock Rovers), Killian Brennan (Bohemians), Ross Gaynor (Dundalk), James McClean (Derry City)

Forwards: Gary Twigg, Karl Sheppard (Shamrock Rovers), Eamon Zayed (Derry City), Jason Byrne (Dundalk), Danny North (St Patrick's Athletic)