Tuesday 16 January 2018

Mourinho blasts penalty call in Saints draw

Cesc Fabregas
Cesc Fabregas

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho believes a wrongly-awarded penalty in the 1-1 draw with Southampton denied his side an eight-point lead at the top of the Premier League.

The Blues are six points clear of second-placed Manchester City with a game in-hand, but for the second successive match against Southampton, Mourinho bemoaned decisions by the match officials.

Mourinho was fined £25,000 for saying there was a "clear campaign" against his side after Cesc Fabregas was denied a penalty and booked for diving instead in the December 28 draw at St Mary's.

The Blues boss was frustrated Nemanja Matic was penalised - allowing Dusan Tadic to score from the spot and cancel out Diego Costa's first Premier League goal for almost two months - and Branislav Ivanovic was not awarded a spot kick at the other end.

"I'm happy with the situation. I'm happy with the six-point lead, but I'm not happy with the result," Mourinho said.

"If you remember our two matches against Southampton: in one game, one penalty that is not a penalty and in another game a penalty that was not given. You are speaking about six points transformed into two points."


Mourinho was clearly upset with the penalty decisions, but bit his tongue on this occasion.

He said: "My opinion is not important. Important is Mr Mike Dean (the referee).

"His decision was a penalty and his decision was no penalty on Ivanovic."

Ivanovic may have been clipped by Tadic, but fell theatrically, dissuading Dean from pointing to the spot.

Asked about the fall, Mourinho deferred to his media officer sitting alongside, saying: "You have to control me, if not..."

Mourinho was told television pundit Graeme Souness - with whom he had a public exchange of views this week after the Scot criticised Chelsea's conduct in the Champions League exit to Paris St Germain - thought Matic had conceded a penalty.

"Graeme Souness says also that it's more a reason to criticise a player who asks for a yellow card than a player who kicks somebody in the chest," Mourinho added.

"I went to Sky and they told me their pundits said it's a penalty. I went to BBC and they told me it's not a penalty. I went to the radios and they told me it's not a penalty."

Promoted articles

Entertainment News