Saturday 16 December 2017

Goalkeeper Supple opts out of Dublin squad

SHANE SUPPLE has left the Dublin senior football squad less than a month after being invited to join it.

The St Brigid's stopper was called up by Pat Gilroy after a string of excellent displays as the club won Dublin SFC honours and started between the sticks for Dublin's routine victory over UCD in the O'Byrne Cup.

His decision to leave means Gilroy will stick with the same two goalkeepers he has used for the past three seasons, Stephen Cluxton and Michael Savage.

SEÁN O'SULLIVAN will start his first competitive match for Kerry in over two years after Jack O'Connor dropped the Cromane man straight back into his team to face Dublin in Croke Park on Saturday night (7.15). O'Sullivan and Paul Galvin will man the wing-forward berths in a team which contains seven starting players from last year's All-Ireland final.

Dr Crokes involvement in the All-Ireland club SFC semi-finals means no Colm Cooper or Eoin Brosnan so Peter Crowley and Brian Maguire get a chance in defence and while James O'Donoghue and Barry John Keane are included up front.

BRIAN HANAMY will make his debut for Offaly against Longford in their Allianz League Division 3 clash in Pearse Park (2.30).

The Dublin native declared for the Faithful County earlier this year on the parentage rule and has been thrown straight into the deep end by manager, Gerry Cooney, for their league opener.

The Kilmacud Crokes man will start in a selection unrecognisable from that which lined out last year. Former Offaly hurler, Daniel Currams, is listed at centre-forward after electing to concentrate solely on football for the season.

KERRY (SF v Dublin): B Kealy: S Enright; M Ó Sé, P Crowley; T Ó Sé, K Young, B Maguire; S Scanlon, B Sheehan; P Galvin, D O'Sullivan, S O'Sullivan; J O'Donoghue, K Donaghy, BJ Keane.

OFFALY (SF v Longford): K Meehan; J Gallagher, P McConway, S Pender; B Darby, S Sullivan, L Hiney; B Hanamy, N Smith; A Keenaghan, D Currams, A Sullivan; B Allen, A Mulhall, N Dunne.

CORK (SH v Kerry): A Nash; D Cahalane, E Dillon, C O'Sullivan; C Joyce, R Cashman, T Kenny; C Naughton, C McCarthy; B Corry, P Cronin, L O'Farrell; P Horgan, E Murphy, R Clifford.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News