| 9.9°C Dublin

Gildea guides Juniors home

KILCOCK Celtic 1, Kinnegad Juniors 3 - Kinnegad Juniors came out on top in this KDFL Evening Herald Under 19 League tie on Saturday when they defeated Kilcock Celtic and were made fight all the way.

Both teams swapped chances until Kinnegad broke the deadlock on the half-hour mark. Gary Gildea put the visitors ahead after a fine through ball by Ciaran Fagan found the striker in space behind the Kilcock defence, whereupon the forward calmly placed the ball past Ryan O'Connell in the home goal.

Three minutes later, Juniors doubled their lead when a cross from Jay Gleeson deceived the home 'keeper and dropped into the net to put the visitors 2-0 up.

After the interval, Kinnegad started very strongly and immediately put the pressure on the home defence, with centre-half pairing of Paddy Connell and Adam Leonard making some great interception tackles.

Due to an injury, Kilcock had to change their 'keeper, but they soon settled and began creating some chances. They got one back in the 60th minute when John Graham set up Shane O'Rourke, whose low shot from the edge of the box slid past Cheevers and into the net.

Buoyed on by this, Celtic went in search of the equaliser. They created a number of chances, but could not breach a very strong defence well marshalled by Dean Gavin and Simon Giles.

The visitors eventually ended the contest when they got their third in the 87th minute.

Simon Giles cleared the ball to Paul Metcalfe, who set up Gary Gildea for a side-footed effort past the advancing 'keeper.

This was a very entertaining game from two evenly matched and well-disciplined teams. Best for the winners were two-goal hero Gary Gildea and Jay Gleeson, while Daragh Lynch and Ian Mooney tried hardest for Kilcock.

Kilcock Celtic: Ryan O'Connell, Daragh Lynch, Gavin Byrne, Paddy O'Connell, Adam Leonard, Ian Mooney, John Graham, Conor Dully, Darren O'Connor, Shane O'Rourke, Evan Treacy, Jordan Hamilton Eoin McArdle, Michael Bambury, Evan Comerford. Kinnegad Juniors: John Cheevers, Dean Galvin, Simon Giles, Noel Baker, Conor Doolan, Ciaran Fagan, Michael Cole, Jay Gleeson, Brian O'Sullivan, Gary Gildea, Robert Gray, Paul Metcalfe, Conor Lawlor, Mathew Darcy. Referee: Eric McCann.