| 0.5°C Dublin

Andrew's late surge sinks Wesley

FOR a third successive year extra-time was needed to separate St Andrew's and Wesley.

St Andrew's 5

Wesley 2

(after extra-time)

The former ultimately had the sharper edge, however, netting three times late on to retain the title at Grange Road yesterday.

Irish U16 Jordan Larmour's second of the day put Andrew's on course before Richard Couse and Alex Service closed out the win in the final four minutes for a 5-2 win. It meant a clean sweep for the Booterstown school, having already claimed the Leinster league and the All-Ireland championship last November.

Yet the Ballinteer school could so easily have won but for the brilliance of Jamie Carr, who denied Scott Dagg's sliding effort with three minutes left of normal time.

Indeed, Wesley did not have much luck throughout as Stu Ronan and Kirk Shimmins both clattered the post in the first half.

In between those efforts, Larmour had put Andrew's in front with a calm finish.

Wesley hit back in the second half when Luke Madeley whizzed home a low drag-flick to equalise after Kirk Shimmins had shown a delightful burst of pace to win the first penalty corner of the game.

Andrew's returned to the lead via Lee Cole from the penalty stroke spot. But once again Wesley fought back and won a corner that Ian Stewart laid on for Jonathan Roberts to deflect in for the equaliser. The past two years have seen this final go to a penalty shoot-out but Andrew's were in no mood to repeat the dose in extra-time.

Larmour kept his nerve from a baseline pull-back to flick into the welcoming net before Couse did likewise from Ben Campbell's stunning right wing burst.

And Service capped the tie with a delightful chipped finish after a mazy run to land the Senior Cup title for a sixth time.

SCORERS – St Andrew's : J Larmour 2, L Cole, R Couse, A Service. Wesley: L Madeley, J Roberts.

St Andrew's: J Carr, L Cole, D Nolan, J Larmour, B Campbell, M Loughrey, A Service, E Foy, R Hohn, W King, R Couse. Subs: J Henry, A Bailey, E Buttanshaw, G Browne, C Hynes.

Wesley: L Micklem, D Williams, L Madeley, N Pelow, J Roberts, D Walsh, I Stewart, K Shimmins, D Winn, S Ronan, K von Eickstedt. Subs: D Shirley, S Dagg, J Dalrymple, J O'Donovan, B McCrea.