| 8.9°C Dublin

All White on the night for Town

TERENURE 0, WHITESTOWN UNITED 6 - A clinical display of counterattacking football from Whitestown United ensured they kept their quest for the DWSL Intermediate Cup alive, leaving Terenure spinning in their devastating wake at the VEC Grounds last Wednesday night.

Three goals in the first half and a repeat of the dose after the break completed the rout as the visitors picked apart the home defence a half dozen times.

For Terenure, the lopsided score will hurt, but the home side did have long spells of pressure and created a string of decent chances.

It was United, though, that showed a unique ability to absorb Terenure's pressure before hitting them on the break with speedy strikeforce Nicky Griffin and Amie O'Toole providing the cutting edge at the sharp end of the visitors' attack.

It was Griffin and O'Toole that combined to break the deadlock after only 15 minutes.

O'Toole made the most of some slack defending, but her effort hit the upright. Griffin, though, was on hand to drive home the opener.

O'Toole deservedly made it two nil on 24 minutes, driving home a low effort that left Deborah Kelly with little chance.

The home side, to their credit, bounced back with Aishling Cusack, Niamh Small and Emma Dunne all testing Michelle O'Reilly in the United goal.

Any notions of a home comeback were blown out of the water six minutes before the break when United burst out of defence to bag a third goal when Griffin escaped free to slip a low drive past Kelly.

Terenure started the second half in positive fashion, creating several chances that O'Reilly batted back, but once again United ripped any hope away with another goal.

This time Amie Sinclair raced down the right wing and coolly planted a low effort into the bottom corner.

Caitriona Mullarney turned home number five, arriving at the back post to nudge Griffin's corner into the net with 20 minutes left.

Sinclair had the final say five minutes from the end, bursting through the heart of the Terenure defence before finishing with precision.

TERENURE: Deborah Kelly; Shirley McKay, Emma Dunne, Jen White, Ashley Manus, Siobhan Mulhall, Danielle Byrne, Aishling Byrne, Jan Cleary, Elaine Kelly, Niamh Small. Subs: Louise Igoe (for E. Kelly 55 mins), Sonia Glynn.

WHITESTOWN: Michelle O'Reilly; Amie Sinclair, Lorraine Cording, Melanie Mooney, Caitriona Mullarney, Nicky Griffin, Rosanna Deegan, Amie O'Toole, Margo Gallagh, Leanne Murray, Lorraine Mullarney.

Referee: Chris O'Neill.