Tuesday 21 November 2017

Brennan lob 'Rocks rivals

10-man Malahide hold on to clinch crown


A first-half goal from Mark Brennan was enough to earn 10-man Malahide Community School victory in yesterday's FAI Schools Dr Tony O'Neill Leinster Cup final.

Brennan's stunning 35-yard lob on 17 minutes eventually proved enough to get Malahide over the line despite playing almost the entire second period with a man down following the dismissal of Glen Daly.

Daly was shown a straight red card at the South Dublin Football League Complex for an off-the-ball incident involving Paul Moffatt just inside the Malahide half.

Clonkeen were inches from taking advantage, going close with chances within minutes of the decision, but Malahide rallied and eventually played their way to victory at the final whistle.

Both sides went into the game in ominous form, with Malahide brushing aside St Joseph's in the semi-finals and Clonkeen putting four past Coláiste Chiaran on their way to the final.


The Blackrock school had the opening chance of the game, Ben McEntee fired a snapshot over the bar from the edge of the area on two minutes.

Malahide responded with chances for strike duo Conor Mullarkey and Dylan Cashin inside the opening 10 minutes, before Brennan opened the scoring by surprising goalkeeper Aidan Quinn with a disguised lob from distance.

Cashin went close later in the half as Malahide looked to be comfortable, but McEntee struck the post with a close-range effort after Ryan Matthews nodded a free kick into his path.

The second period got off to an explosive start. With Daly's sending off, Kevin Dunne was forced to save from McEntee seconds later as the striker broke free on goal.

Despite a header from Stephen Byrne just missing the target for Clonkeen, Malahide began to pass their way back into a position of control and Mullarkey almost sealed the win late on when he saw his five-yard shot saved by Clonkeen's Quinn.

MALAHIDE CS: Kevin Dunne, Jacob Ferguson, Colm Curtis, Glen Daly, Ciaran Callaghan, Mark Brennan, Eric Harold, Shane Woods, Dylan Cashin, Conor Mullarkey, Ciaran McGahan. Subs: Dylan McNulty for Cashin (54), John Walsh for Harold (77).

CLONKEEN COLLEGE: Aidan Quinn, Daniel Flynn Fallon, Stephen Byrne, Jamie Costello, Ryan Matthews, Brian Allen, Ray Dunne, Stephen Mooney, Ben McEntee, Paul Moffatt, Mark O'Grady. Sub: Scott Maloney for Flynn Fallon (75).

Referee: John Clarke.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News