Tuesday 16 January 2018


The most interesting fact about Leinster's registration of three players for The Champions Cup quarter-final, and beyond, is the promotion of Ireland U20 captain Nick McCarthy (pictured).

It goes without saying that the sight of Sean O'Brien and Cian Healy will give coach Matt O'Connor a deeper reservoir of talent and a wider breadth of options, physically and tactically.


The Man-of-the-Match impact by O'Brien against Scotland and the remarkable physical tools of Healy give Leinster the gainline breakers they have been so badly missing all season.

However, Isaac Boss's ongoing calf problem and Eoin Reddan's slight injury concerns mean scrum-half McCarthy has been co-opted as a precaution in behind Luke McGrath giving Leinster four nines where they previously held three.


ASM Clermont Auvergne: Arthur Iturria, Charlie Cassang.

Bath Rugby: Beno Obano, Max Lahiff, Tom Homer.

Leinster Rugby: Cian Healy, Sean O'Brien, Nick McCarthy.

Northampton Saints: Ah See Tuala, Reece Marshall, Sam Olver.

Racing Metro 92: Laurent Magnaval, Davit Khinchagishvili. Cedate Gomes-Sa.

RC Toulon: Craig Burden, Frederic Michalak, Juan Martin Hernandez.

Saracens: Schalk Brits, Kieran Longbottom, Nick Tompkins.

Wasps: James Downey, Piri Weepu.


Connacht Rugby: Tiernan O'Halloran, Eoghan Masterson.

champions cup

Promoted articles

Entertainment News