Monday 18 December 2017

Wesley's warriors are second to none

THE Second XV, who have been Old Wesley's most consistent team this season, brought home the first piece of silverware of the year last Sunday after beating NUIM Barnhall in the final of the Senior Seconds League Shield.

Played in cold and showery conditions Old Wesley led from start to finish. However, they didn't have it all their own way, particularly in the first half.

Wesley were first on the scoreboard after eight minutes with a try by scrum-half Call Lynn after the pack rucked and mauled their way into the opposition 22.

Bill Duggan missed the conversion but made amends shortly after with a penalty kick to take an eight-nil lead. As the first half continued, the Kildare men's pack started to flex its muscles, and on the half hour they scored a push-over try. However, they missed the conversion.

Soon after, Duggan pushed out the lead again for Old Wesley with a penalty kick.

But the home team finished the first half the stronger to leave just one point between the sides at half time.

After just five minutes of the second period some great handling brought play into the Barnhall 22, then centre Paddy Owens displayed great footwork to cross for Wesley's second try. This time Duggan converted. Wesley kicked on from there and were deserving winners. After the match the trophy was presented to Old Wesley captain Simon Goldsmith by Paul Deering from Leinster Branch.

OLD WESLEY - Jimmy McNicholl, Wesley Deverell, Paddy Owens, Eoin Fitzpatrick, Mulcair O'Mara, Bill Duggan, Call Lynn, Greg Leader, Andrew McCrann, Simon Goldsmith (capt), Jonny Carroll, Gavin Dunne, Mark Rouse, Thomas Ratahi, Colin Wallace. Subs: Kenny Knaggs, Ian Sheridan, Oltian Dervishi, Alex Browne, Ken McLaughlin, Ray Wilson.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News