| 10°C Dublin

Reddan leads Ireland into arm wrestle

Leinster scrum-half Eoin Reddan will lead Ireland out as a first-time captain against Georgia tomorrow.

It also marks an important point in the career of Gordon D'Arcy as he bids to show Ireland coach Joe Schmidt that he is far from finished, despite the excellence of Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne at centre against South Africa.

The experience of those two will be crucial to what is an inexperienced lot with nine players coming in below 10 caps.

"I think you try to give them some confidence, that they're not there for show," said Schmidt.

He has made thirteen changes, retaining Simon Zebo and Mike Ross, who needs match practice.

The selection of Zebo is the most interesting as the Munster wing continues to show progress in the basics to go with his undoubted game breaking skills.

"I thought he had a really good game against South Africa," said Schmidt.

"If you analyse the game, he did some of the unseen things that we have been asking of him."


Schmidt also hands over new caps to Leinster flanker Dominic Ryan and Munster second row Dave Foley.

"Dominic has been a really powerful influence in games with his ability to hit people behind the gain line and win collisions, and also his work ethic," he said.

"I think his ability to get around and have multiple involvements through phases of play has been really good.

"Dave Foley brings a line-out intelligence," added Schmidt.

"He's really impressed me, and the others in the coaching staff, in the way he's worked on trying to have real clarity in his role.

"I think he's had the master to learn from in Paul O'Connell and that certainly helps him.

"Players who have been there already, you want to keep that intellectual property ticking over in the camp."

There is also the likelihood Munster number eight Robin Copeland will make his debut off the bench.

Ireland: F Jones; C Gilroy, D Cave, G D'Arcy, S Zebo; I Madigan, E Reddan (capt); D Kilcoyne, R Strauss, M Ross, D Foley, M McCarthy, D Ryan, T O'Donnell, R Diack.

Georgia: M Kvirikashvili; A Todua, D Kacharava (capt), M Sharikadze, T Mtchedlidze; L Khmaladze, G Begadze; M Nariashvili, S Mamukashvili, D Kubriashvili, K Mikautadze, G Nemsadze, G Tkhilaishvili, V Kolelishvili, D Basilaia.