herald

Monday 20 August 2018

'Protocol followed' over Hook penalty

World Cup organisers say "correct protocol" was followed by the match officials during yesterday's Wales-South Africa clash in Wellington over a disputed James Hook penalty kick.

Wales full-back Hook's 14th-minute strike appeared to go over successfully, but assistants Vinny Munro and George Clancy kept their flags down.

Hook said later he thought the kick was successful, but the television match official Matt Goddard was not consulted by English referee Wayne Barnes and Wales went on to lose a Pool D thriller 17-16.

The Wales camp, led by coach Warren Gatland, did not make an issue of an incident that ultimately cost Wales dear.

In a statement, tournament organisers said: "Rugby World Cup Limited has clarified the status of the television match official protocol. Under protocol, the referee may consult the assistant referees or the television match official if he is unsure as to whether a penalty kick, drop-goal or conversion has been successful.

"During the match in question, the match official team felt at the time that there was no need to consult the TMO following a Wales penalty kick, as they were confident that the kick was not successful. Correct protocol was followed.

"The IRB (International Rugby Board) will not be making further comment."

England lock Courtney Lawes has been cited for allegedly striking Argentina hooker Mario Ledesma with his knee, Rugby World Cup Limited has announced.

Lawes will have to appear before a disciplinary panel in Auckland, to be chaired by independent judicial officer Terry Willis, from Australia.

The time and date of the hearing will be confirmed later today.

Lawes was cited by match disciplinary commissioner Murray Whyte for his challenge on Ledesma near the end of the first half.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News