Thursday 14 December 2017

Nine changes to Leinster side to face Bath in Champions Cup

Leinster's Fergus McFadden during their captain's run. Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road
Leinster's Fergus McFadden during their captain's run. Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road

Matt O'Connor has made nine changes to the starting 15 he hopes will secure a passage to the semi-final of the Champions Cup when Leinster meet Bath at the Aviva Stadium tomorrow.

All of the Blues' Six Nations heroes are back and fit with Rob Kearney returning to full back.

In total, there are nine changes in total from the team that drew 34-34 in a titanic tussle against Glasgow Warriors last weekend with Jamie Heaslip coming back to earn his 198th cap.

Fergus McFadden, who scored Leinster's first try last Friday and also scored against Wasps last time out in Europe, continues on the right wing with Luke Fitzgerald coming onto the left wing.

There is no change to the centre partnership with Ian Madigan, who scored 14 points from six kicks against Glasgow, starting at inside centre with Ben Te'o outside him at 13. In the half backs Jimmy Gopperth is at ten, while Isaac Boss comes in from the start this week having scored two tries when introduced last week.

There are six changes in the pack with a new front row of Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Mike Ross starting and Devin Toner coming into the second row alongside Mike McCarthy.

Jordi Murphy retains his place at blindside flanker, while at openside Sean O'Brien makes his first appearance for Leinster since the opening day fixture away to Glasgow Warriors in Scotstoun.

Tickets for the game are still on sale at www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets with ticket sales now over the 40,000 mark ahead of the 3.15pm kick off tomorrow in the Aviva Stadium.


15. Rob Kearney

14. Fergus McFadden

13. Ben Te'o

12. Ian Madigan

11. Luke Fitzgerald

10. Jimmy Gopperth

9. Isaac Boss

1. Cian Healy

2. Sean Cronin

3. Mike Ross

4. Devin Toner

5. Mike McCarthy

6. Jordi Murphy

7. Sean O'Brien

8. Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN


16. Richardt Strauss

17. Jack McGrath

18. Marty Moore

19. Tom Denton

20. Dominic Ryan

21. Eoin Reddan

22. Gordon D'Arcy

23. Zane Kirchner

Promoted articles

Entertainment News