| 7.6°C Dublin

Leinster rugby fans vote Aisling in as their first woman president

THE Official Leinster Supporters Club (OLSC) has elected its first ever woman president.

Aisling O'Connor from Ratoath in Co Meath was voted into the position at the fifth annual general meeting of the OLSC, held at The Laighin Out bar in Ballsbridge.

Jarrod Bromley stepped down from the office after two years in the post and was replaced by Ms O'Connor.

Aisling previously served two seasons on the supporters committee.

She said she is looking forward to working with the group and is honoured to be elected as president.

A new committee was also voted in, with Mr Bromley, David Cahill, Myriam McQuinn and David Gough returning for another year.

Ms O'Connor, Alison Moore and Killian Byrne joined them in the group.

Membership of the OLSC has grown significantly on the back of the success of Leinster rugby in recent years.

It expects to have more than 13,000 members next season.

In May, Leinster became the first team to land three European titles in four seasons after successfully defending the Heineken Cup.

Leicester are the only other team to win back-to-back Heineken Cups.

Leinster's 42-14 victory over Ulster at Twickenham in May was the biggest winning margin in a European final. The team's five-try haul and points tally also set new records.