Fond farewell to Belvo pavilion
The scene is changing at Anglesea Road. The old pavilion has been demolished to make way for a new, state-of-the-art gymnasium.
This corrugated building proudly stood and served the needs of the club for more than 60 years. Old Belvedere purchased the ground in October 1944 and the temporary structure, incorporating four dressing rooms, was completed in January 1949.
The old structure was in full use until the new pavilion was completed in February 1962.
A number of the club's senior members have shared their memories of the old pavilion. Players today would find it very hard to appreciate how wonderful and comfortable this structure was in the late 1940s. At that time, many club players would have had limited experience of the shower facilities at the College ground at Jones Road and the basins of cold water provided at Cabra. The corrugated pavilion was indeed luxurious then.
The pavilion was used by many great Old Belvedere players, among them internationals Karl Mullen, Kevin Quinn, Louis Crowe, Brendan Quinn, Mick Dargan and Tony O'Reilly.
In recent years, the old building was used as a gymnasium and a weights room, and for a short period as a medical room.
A new gymnasium is under construction on the site of the old pavilion. The memories associated with the old structure will surely endure and the new structure will serve the needs of coming generations of Belvo players.