Sunday 17 December 2017

Phádraig boys add Minor Cup crown to collection

COLáISTE Phádraig CBS will be on familiar ground today when the new Leinster Minor Boys champions enter the national arena.

The Lucan school claimed their their third provincial cup crown on Tuesday with a 2-0 victory over Boyne Community School at Peamount United FC in the Under-15 showpiece.

Their first of previous back-to-back successes - both in the First Year Cup - in 2012 saw Phádraig go all the way to All-Ireland glory.

The following year their Leinster conquering team was defeated at the All-Ireland semi-final stage.

Coláiste Dun Iascaigh of Cahir stand in their way today, but Ray Cullen's side will be in confident mood following Tuesday's win.

Tope Ositelu opened the scoring 18 minutes into the final with a rasping long-range drive that flew into the top corner. Despite dominating the opening period and seeing Luke Harris go close, Phádraig had to wait until 15 minutes from the end to seal the result.


Yasser Mahrouk set-up Cian McGrane for number two, before goalkeeper Joseph Bankole had to acrobatically tip a long-range effort onto his own crossbar, before gathering the rebound, minutes later as Boyne Community School attempted a comeback.

Elsewhere, Leinster Junior Boys Cup champions Gaelcholáiste na Mara were edged out 3-1 in their All-Ireland semi-final by Colaiste Choilm, Ballincollig last Thursday at Ozier Park in Waterford.

Dublin Oak Academy from Bray are Wicklow-Wexford First Year Boys Division Two League champions after a 4-0 final victory over St David's Secondary School, Greystones on the same day.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News