Friday 6 December 2019

Tenth league title for Clonliffe

Simon Galligan
Simon Galligan

Clonliffe Harriers men's team successfully defended their national league title in Tullamore, making it a fifth title in a row and a tenth overall since the National League was first held in 1978.

In the women's competition, Dundrum South Dublin AC were regaining the title they last won in 2016 for an eighth title overall. St Abban's, who had won for the past two years, were missing their big name athletes and had barely managed to qualify for the final.

DSD performed well across the board with a team mixing the experience of Sinéad Denny, Meghan Ryan, Fiona Clinton, Meghan Ryan and Fiona Clinton with the youth of (among others) Molly Hourihan, Charlotte Burke, Emma Ryan, Rachel Dunne and Kate Doherty, winner of both the 100m hurdles and 100m flat.

Then there were club stalwarts Harriette Robinson, Emmy Coffey Nguyen, Sonya McConnon - and club president Lucy Moore.

Clonliffe dominated the men's competition with seven wins, starting with Simon Galligan in the hammer. Other wins came from Greg Hosseny (walk), Niall Counihan (triple jump), Stephan Rice (javelin), Jayme Rossiter (steeplechase), Ian Guiden (5000m) and the 4x100m relay team. High scores from Keith Marks (high jump and long jump), Timmy Crowe (110m and 400m hurdles), Luke Mangan (shot), Thomas Pitkin (400m) and Colm Rooney (1500m) all helped.

An impressive second was Raheny Shamrock, with winning performances from Eric Favors in the shot and discus, Kieran Kelly in the 1500m and the 4x400m team of Brandon Arrey, Jamie Sheridan, Cillian Kirwan and Kieran Kelly.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News