Thursday 14 December 2017

Super Siofra keeps up her winning ways

As Dooney retains senior title

KEVIN Dooney of CBC Monkstown was an assured winner of the boys' senior title at the Aviva Leinster Schools' Cross-Country held in Santry, Dublin yesterday.

After a long career in schools athletics, Dooney had a breakthrough win at last year's championships, and has gone on since then to feature regularly on Irish junior teams.

In yesterday's race, he forced the pace from the start with only Ian Guiden of St Aidan's bravely attempting to stay with him.

Guiden soon fell back to a chasing pack that included Mitchell Byrne of Templeogue College and Cillian ó Maonaigh of Coláiste Eoin, who were to finish second and third behind Dooney.

Continuing her long schools winning streak in the girls' inter race was Siofra Cleirgh Buttner of Coláiste íosagáin. Only four days earlier, Buttner had finished sixth at the European Club Championships and she quickly put her stamp on the inter race, leading by 50 metres after the first 1,000m lap and then stretching away for an assured victory. For second place, Sarah Fitzpatrick of Our Lady's Teempleogue followed the lead of sister Eimear when she took silver, just edging out Sarah Ní Mhaolmhuire of Coláiste íosagáin.

With Aoibhinn Dowdall fourth and Sarah Hawkshaw fifth, Mount Sackville scored a famous team victory over Coláiste íosagain.

In the girls' senior race, Clár Nic Chártaigh of Coláiste íosagáin who, like Buttner had run with distinction at the European Clubs, took her first Leinster cross-country title. Mary Mulhare of Scoil Chriost Ri Portlaoise was second, followed by Meghan Ní Riain third and Sorcha Nic Umfraidh fourth. With three runners in the top four, Coláiste íosagain took the team trophy in style.

Putting in another assured performance in the boys' inter race was Aaron O'Hanlon of St Mary's Dundalk. He broke away early, leaving the chasers to battle it out for the minor placings.

Winning the race for second place was Killian Kirwan of St Fintan's, with Liam Mc Giolla Phadraig of Colaiste Eoin a close third and Templeogue's Dylan Keegan fourth.

Glenn Gaffney, last year's minor champion, quickly built up an unbeatable lead in the boys' junior race, with Jack O'Leary of Clongowes taking silver ahead of Jack Kyle from King's Hospital.


Winning the girls' junior race in some style was Carla Sweeney of St MacDara's, with Niamh Crowley of Malahide Community College second and Skerries CC best of the teams.

Delighted with their victory in the girls' minor race was the team from Eureka Kells, led home by Rose Finnegan, who finished third.

Winning the race was Siofra O'Flaherty of St Leo's Carlow with the aforementioned Eimear Fitzpatrick of Our Lady's Terenure second.

Winning the boys' minor race was Pat Shaw of St Finian's Mullingar, with St Aidan's CBS packing well to finish best of the teams.

The first 15 across the line and the first three teams qualified for the AVIVA All-Ireland Schools Cross Country in Galway on March 10.


Girls - Minor: 1 S O'Flaherty (St Leo's Carlow); 2 E Fitzpatrick (Our Lady's Terenure; 3 R Finnegan (Eureka Kells). Teams - 1 Eureka Kells 18; 2 Loreto Kilkenny 55; 3 Colaiste Iosagain 62.

Junior: 1 C Sweeney (St MacDara's); 2 N Crowley (Malahide CS); 3 C Murphy (Jesus and Mary). Teams - 1 Skerrries CC 31; 2 St Mary's Naas 56; 3 St Dominic's Cabra 57.

Inter: 1 S Cleirigh Buttner (Col Iosagain ); 2 S Fitzpatrick (Our Lady's Terenure); 3 S Ni Mhaolmhuire (Col Iosagain). Teams - 1 Mount Sackville; 23; 2 Col Iosagain 41; 3 Loreto Kilkenny63.

Senior: 1 C Nic Chartaigh (Col Iosagain); 2 M Mulhare (Scoil Chriost Ri Portloaise); 3 M Ni Riain (Col Iosagain). Teams - 1 Col Iosagain 8; 2 St Dominic's Cabra 51; 3 Mount Sackville 77.

Overall - Colaiste Iosagain.

Boys - Minor: 1 P Shaw (St Finian's Mullingar); 2 A Monaghan (St Pat's Navan); 3 K Keogh (St Kieran's). Teams - 1 St Aidan's CBS 48; 2 Willow Park 75; 3 St Kieran's 97.

Junior: 1 G Gaffney (CBS Mullingar); 2 J O'Leary (Clongowes); 3 J Kyle (King's Hospital). Teams - 1 CBS Mullingar 48; 2 St Aidan's CBS 67; 3 Blackrock 123.

Inter: 1 A O'Hanlon (St Mary's Dundalk); 2 K Kirwan (St Fintan's Sutton); 3 L Mac Giola Phadraig (Col Eoin). Teams - 1 St Kieran's 85; 2 St Fintan's Sutton 85; 3 CBS Mullingar 102.

Senior: 1 K Dooney (CBC Monkstown) 2 M Byrne (Templeogue College); 3 Cillian O Maonaigh (Col Eoin). Teams - 1 CBS Mullingar 69; 2 Knockbeg College 84; 3 CBS Portlaoise 84.

Overall - CBS Mullingar.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News