Sunday 20 January 2019

Síofra shatters schools record

Despite blustery conditions, both the girls and boys 800m records fell at Saturday's Aviva Tailteann Schools Interpro in Santry.

First up were the girls, and Coláiste íosagáin's Síofra Cléirigh Buttner broke from the start, with Alanna Lally of Pres Athenry leading the chasers.

Battling a strong headwind, Cléirigh Buttner held out to clock a magnificent time of two minutes 7.78 seconds.

This was not only a personal best, but knocked almost five seconds off the record of 2:12.5 set by her DSD clubmate, Aoife Byrne, in 1996. Lally, in second place, was just fractionally off the record.

In the boys race, Karl Griffin from Abbey Vocational Donegal stretched away at the bell to win in 01:54.61 seconds, just inside the 1989 time of 1:55 set by Fintan O'Reilly.

A third record came in the girls' triple jump when Jessica Sheenan, Kinsale CS, jumped 11.37m, beating Polish-born Ania Bednoz, Mercy Sligo, by two centimetres.

Female Athlete of the Meet was Ciara Giles Doran of Mercy Waterford. She won the 300m hurdles and 200m and then helped Munster to victory in the 4x300m relay.

Making it a sprint double was the Leinster boys captain Marcus Lawlor, who beat Greg O'Shea of Crescent Limerick in both 100m and 200m.

A clear winner of the 400m was Marcus Martensson of St Andrew's, who also helped Leinster to second behind Ulster in the 4x400m.

In the 1500m, front-running Shane Fitzsimons of St Joseph's Rochfortbridge came home in 4:00.92. David Harpur, Rice College Westport, was second in a personal best 4:06.32, with Aaron O'Hanlon, St Mary's Drogheda, third. A closely fought girls 1500m saw Ella Fennelly, Mount Anville, sprint away from Aisling Quinn, Ursuline Waterford, to win in 4:52.63.

Blackrock's Michael Brown had a good win in the triple jump, with his school-mate Oliver Jager winning the shot and finishing second in the discus behind Belvedere's Michael Hanlon. Maryfield's Sarah McCarthy won the long jump.

Overall, Leinster won the boys trophy for an eighth year while Munster were best of the girls.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News