Saturday 16 December 2017

Smith and Morgan deliver tube strikes Railway steam into action against Cork Blake bid blown to bits early in Chicago Elite recognition for trio of junior cue stars

SURFING: Fergal Smith from Westport and Bundoran's Nicole Morgan won the men's and women's open titles at the Billabong Easkey Surf Open, held in perfect conditions. In the men's open, Aaron Reid from Sligo, Ollie O'Flaherty from Clare, and Iarom Madden Travers from Bundoran made the final along with Smith. With standards high, Smith came out on top with Reid edging Travers for second place.

Nicole Morgan beat old rival Easkey Britton from Rossnowlagh for the women's title. In other categories, Ashleigh Smith took the women's bodyboard title, with Shane Meehan best of the men. Tramore's Keith O'Brien won the senior event, with Richard Fitzgerald best of the masters and Emmet O'Doherty, Bundoran best in the Stand Up Paddle (SUP) event. All were collecting points towards the Irish Championships, with the Sligo Open the other counting round following the cancellation of two other events this season.

Stephen Kilfeather won the men's open title, with brother Andrew taking the bodyboard event. Nicole Morgan, Ashleigh Smith, Craig Butler, John Britton, Stevie Burns and Finn Mullen were other winners.

Railway steam into action against Cork

HOCKEY: Defending women's champions Railway Union host Cork Harlequins in the opening round of the third Irish Hockey League on Saturday. UCD, the second Leinster team included in Pool B, play Ballymoney at Belfield.

In Pool A, Hermes face UCC at Belfield while Loreto travel north to take on Belfast Harlequins. In men's Pool B, Pembroke Wanderers are at home to Cork Harlequins, while YMCA face Monkstown at Milltown. In Pool A, Corinthian play Glenanne at Whitechurch.

Meanwhile, Irish international hockey player Nikki Symmons of Loreto has been selected for the Irish cricket team travelling to South Africa for the Women's World Cup.

Blake bid blown to bits early in Chicago

SQUASH: Aisling Blake went out in the second round at the METROsquash US Open, in Chicago, USA, to Amanda Sobhy of the US.

Awards for Best Irish International Player went to Madeline Perry and Derek Ryan at Squash Ireland's 75th anniversary celebrations in Dublin last weekend. Eddie Murphy picked up an award for his outstanding contribution as coaching secretary and volunteer to Irish Squash. Jonah Barrington took the hall of fame award.

Elite recognition for trio of junior cue stars

SNOOKER: Josh Boileau from Newbridge CYMS, Ross Doyle from Monkstown and Stephen Bateman from Kilkenny SC will make up the Junior RIBSA Elite Squad for the forthcoming season. Boileau and Doyle topped last year's U16 and U14 rankings while Bateman, aged just 12, reached the U16 National Championships semi-finals.

Prawns added to tasty league cocktail

LACROSSE: With new teams joining from Belfast and Cork, a stronger Irish lacrosse league plays its first round of matches in Dangan, Galway, on Saturday. Teams from UCD Lacrosse, Dublin Lacrosse, Trinity and Queens, new team Dublin Bay Prawns and host club NUIG will play a round robin format. Internationally, Ireland will compete at the World Indoor Lacrosse Championships in Prague next May.

uWant to play lacrosse? Visit www.irelandlacrosse.ie.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News