| 5.8°C Dublin

Ramsgrange grab their first girls' Leinster title



RAMSGRANGE Community School claimed their first girls' Leinster title with a 4-2 victory over Scoil Aireagail in the Leinster Senior 'B' Final at Waterford IT.

Goals in the final 10 minutes from Eimear Mullin and Fiona Rowe put Ramsgrange over the line after Aireagail twice fought back either side of half-time.

The New Ross school will now face Munster champions St Peter's Community School of Cork in their first ever girls' All-Ireland semi-final.

The Wexford side looked the brighter from the start and took a deserved lead midway through the first half.

Rosin Murphy dispatched Fiona Rowe's through ball with a delicate lob in the area to break the deadlock.

However, within four minutes the Ballyhale challengers were back in the game as Julie-Ann Malone volleyed to the net.

Despite the setback, Ramsgrange went back to basics and regained the advantage 10 minutes into the second period when Rowe grabbed her first goal with a 25-yard free-kick.

Aireagail's response was even quicker this time as they equalised 60 seconds later through Rachel Sutton.

Mullin gave Ramsgrange the advantage for a third time with 10 minutes to go before Rowe sealed the deal.

ramsgrange CS: Ciara Roche; Siobhan Rowe, Norean McMahon, Amy Butler, Elaine Whelan, Sinead Rowe, Rosin Murphy, Tara Walsh, Eimear Mullin, Fiona Rowe, Shannon Doyle. Subs: Lydia Hickey, Danielle Odham, Carrie Odham, Eilsih Fannucan, Chloe Butler, Catherine Whelan.

scoil aireagail: Valentina Kavanagh; Emily Murphy, Marina Kelly, Katie Dunphy, Ciara Phelan, Sarah Molloy, Julie-Ann Malone, Emily O'Dwyer, Lucy Elridge, Rachel Smith, Eimear Fitzpatrick.

subs: Rachel Kent, Tara Wilson, Danielle Catt, Eimear Moylan.