Saturday 19 January 2019

Mageean seeks Sardinian trip

Raheny’s Mick Clohisey was first in the Dublin Cross-Country Championships. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile
Raheny’s Mick Clohisey was first in the Dublin Cross-Country Championships. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

On a bitterly cold day at Santry, Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock and UCD's Ciara Mageean won the senior titles at the Dublin Cross-County Championships.

First up were the women and on the final lap of the 6km course Mageean raced away from defending champion Caroline Crowley of Crusaders.

After taking bronze at the European Track and Field Championships and narrowly failing to make the 1500m final at the Rio Olympics, Mageean has her sights set firmly on the National Championships on November 27 at Abbotstown.

Her target is a place for the first time on the Irish senior team for the European Championships in Sardinia next month. Now 24, Mageean competed for the Irish junior cross-country team when the European Championships came to Dublin in 2009.

A surprise third was 43-year-old Barbara Cleary of Donore, who finished ahead of Ciara Durkan from Skerries and DSD's Maria McCambridge.

Cleary has had a long battle with injury since 2014 when she won the Women's Mini Marathon.

In the men's race, Conor Dooney attempted to stay with Clohisey, his Raheny club-mate, who pushed the pace from the start and by halfway through the race, had built up a sizeable lead.

Dooney finished second ahead of younger brother Kevin, making it a Raheny clean sweep. Donore pair Eric Keogh and John Travers finished fourth and fifth.

On a special day for Dublin athletics, two stalwarts who left us during the year were remembered in the team competitions.

Winning the newly-minted Jim McNamara Perpetual Trophy were the DSD women, while taking the Pádraig Keane Perpetual Trophy were the Raheny men.

Raheny, who have dominated this race for the past decade, were winning for a third consecutive year. Donore finished second and DSD a close third.

In the women's competition, Crusaders were second, Donore third and MSB fourth.

Host club Clonliffe Harriers dominated the junior men's race. Cathal Doyle was the individual winner, with Sean O'Leary third, Adam O'Brien sixth and Alex Gibbons 14th, leading to team gold.

Raheny proved best of the junior women's teams, with Ailish Murtagh in sixth place, followed home by Seona O'Keeffe 12th, Deirbhile O'Keeffe 13th and Aibhe Finnigan 14th.

At juvenile level, Louis O'Loughlin of Donore had a fine win in the M17 race, while Amy Rose Farrell of Blackrock AC won the W17 title.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News