Thursday 25 April 2019

In like Flynn for half

FLYNN FLYER: Clonliffe Harriers’ David Flynn won the National Half Marathon title in a time of 68:51. Photo: Sam Barnes/Sportsfile
FLYNN FLYER: Clonliffe Harriers’ David Flynn won the National Half Marathon title in a time of 68:51. Photo: Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

David Flynn of Clonliffe Harriers and Letterkenny's Caitriona Jennings were the winners of the National Half Marathon held over a tough course from the Royal Hospital Kilmainham in Dublin.

Because the Phoenix Park is off limits until the end of the month, it took in a short loop of the Liberties and then skirted the park's wall.

Flynn, who was ninth last year, finished in 68 mins 51 secs. His ex-clubmate David Mansfield, now with Clonmel AC, just beat Chris Madden of City of Lisburn AC for second place in 69 minutes exactly.

National marathon champion Gary O'Hanlon finished fourth overall and first M40 in 69:31 secs. Adding to his vast collection of national titles was Pauric McKinney of Inishowen AC who finished first M50 in 77:03.

Mansfield was leading Clonmel AC to a first team victory in this race, with Jimmy Boland and Joey Feery making up the team. Foyle Valley AC was second and Dundrum South Dublin third.

Thurles Crokes were first of the M35 masters teams, followed by Donore Harriers, runners-up for a second year, and Sportsworld AC. Rathfarnham WSAF AC retained the the M50 class, with Mullingar Harriers second and Mayo AC third.

Sinead Jennings, winner in 2009, finished in a time of 82 mins 24 secs to take her second title. Two of the winners from the past three years - Gladys Ganiel last year and Lizzie Lee in 2015- were on marathon duty in Berlin. The 2016 winner Laura Graham, who is the national marathon champion, pulled out of the European Championships with an injury.

Finishing a close second was Sally Forristal of St Joseph's AC in 82:54, who knocked over two minutes off the time she ran last year when she finished fifth. Tara Kennedy of Raheny Shamrock AC, eighth last year, finished third and first W40 in 86:12.

First W45 was Emilia Dan of Dunboyne AC, who beat Colette Tuohy of Mayo AC and Yasmin Canning of Drogheda and District.

Raheny's Caolrine Farrelly was first W50, finishing a minute ahead of Jackie Kingston from Rathfarnham WSAF AC.

Dublin athletes dominated the W55 category, with Anna King of Tallaght AC the winner ahead of Grainne Grennan of Balckrock AC and Eileen Rowland of Sportsworld.

Susan Brennan of DSD was first W60 while Margaret Glavey of Mayo AC added to her collection of titles in the W65 class.

In a competitive team competition, Dunboyne AC had a narrow 19 second victory over Crusaders AC in the senior women's category with Drogheda and District finishing a close third.

Winners in the W35 masters category were Raheny Shamrock AC who - just as they did last year - posted the fastest combined time of the day. Clonmel AC was second and North Sligo AC third.

Mayo AC, led by Pauline Moran, continued their domination of the W50 class, beating Raheny Shamrock A and Raheny Shamrock B.

The championships was run in conjunction with the American Rock 'n' Roll franchise with well over 5,000 finishers.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News