Wednesday 22 November 2017

Egan crushes Walsh to book Ward showdown

Ken Egan will meet Joe Ward in next Friday's Irish Elite Championships light-heavyweight final.

Egan set up the "battle of the southpaws" after Eamon Walsh retired in round two of last night's semi-final at the National Stadium in Dublin.

Egan was 17-4 ahead and had forced Walsh into standing counts in round one and two before the three-rounder was stopped.

The February 3 clash with Ward will be a repeat of the 2011 Elite final which Ward won, a victory which denied Egan his 11th straight Irish title.

Saturday's semi-finals also saw Chris Phelan become the second Ryston BC boxer to make next weekend's deciders following a commanding 26-13 victory over Ruairi Dalton.

Phelan edged the first round 6-5, but some slick counter-punching saw him run away with the second and open up a 17-8 advantage.

Michael Nevin will face John Joe Nevin in the bantamweight final after a 15-10 win over Glen Murray.

The first round of the Eric Donovan versus David Oliver Joyce all-St Michael's Athy clash finished tied at 3-3, Joyce doing the stalking, Donovan picking up points on the counter. Joyce switched tactics to throwing clusters of body punches in the second and opened up an 11-7 lead at the bell before winning the third round 5-4 to secure a 16-11 decision.

He'll now meet Michael McDonagh in a rematch of the 2011 lightweight final which McDonagh won.

"I am not looking past McDonagh. He is a different style of boxer but I'll worry about that on Monday," said Joyce after his win.

Martin Wall, meanwhile, took a count in the third against Stephen Coughlan, who booked his place in the 64kg final with a 16-11 verdict.

Ceire Smith took the early route to victory in the first of Saturday's women's finals to claim her second Irish title. The Cavan BC flyweight took the win after Emma Duffy retired in round one.

Michelle Chambers took a standing count in the second frame of her all-Mayo bantamweight final with Michelle Lynch, who held a 9-3 advantage going into the fourth before securing a 12-3 win.

Claire Grace claimed the welterweight title.

Other winners included Christy Joyce of St Michael's Athy, Beijing Olympian John Joe Joyce, Conor Coyle and Dublin's Sean Turner, who booked his place in the super-heavyweight final.

The finals will be held next Friday at the National Stadium.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News