| 19.4°C Dublin

Clonliffe and Ferrybank tops in Tullamore

No big surprises at the Woodie's DIY National League Final in Tullamore where Clonliffe retained the men's premier division title and Ferrybank proved best of the women.

Ferrybank also won the men's division 1 title, while Galway City Harriers was first of the division 1 women.

As always, athletes were under team orders and so weren't necessarily competing in their strongest discipline.

There were still some impressive performances from some of the country's top athletes in this final major event of a long season.

Leevale's newly crowned Irish 100m record holder Ailis McSweeney registered a fine double in the 100m and 200m, beating her Irish teammate Niamh Whelan from Ferrybank in both races.

Competing for the Kildare county team in division 1, Rose Anne Galligan dropped down to 400m, winning in 56.36, as well as taking her specialist 800m later in the day.

Kilkenny's Joanne Cuddihy picked up valuable points in the premier division 400m, while adding to the Ferrybank total was Jessie Barr with wins in both 400m and 100m hurdles. Brian Kelly of St Abban's won the premier division 800m, beating Raheny's Gavin O'Sullivan.


Rory Chesser, running for Clare County in division 1 800m, narrowly beat Ferrybank's Niall Touhy.

David Hynes of Menapians clocked a fine time of 10.83 to win the premier 100m, beating Tullamore's Gordan Kennedy and Patrick O'Connor of Clonliffe, while DSD's Patrick Phelan won the premier 200m, beating O'Connor and Hynes. It was DSD's only win of the day but they picked up enough points overall to finish second behind Clonliffe.

By contrast, Raheny dominated the middle distance with Kevin Moriarty winning the 1500m, Mark Kirwan the steeplechase and Richie Corcoran the 5000m, but lacked firepower in the sprints and field events.

For Clonliffe, David Donegan won the pole vault, Luke Mangan the shot, Thomas Raultys the discus and 56lb and Paul Marry the javelin. All valuable points. Ferrybank, who lost the title last year by a single point to Tirchonaill, also covered the more technical events, with Cara Kennedy winning the hammer. It meant they could celebrate a good win over Leevale, with Ballymena and Antrim third.