Wednesday 19 December 2018

Clohisey king at 40th Ballycotton

Clohisey came out on top in 49 mins 20 secs. Photo by Cody Glenn/Sportsfile
Clohisey came out on top in 49 mins 20 secs. Photo by Cody Glenn/Sportsfile

On Sunday March 12, 1978, the first Ballycotton 10 race took place, attracting a modest entry of 31, all of them men.

The winner was Ritchie Crowley of St Finnbarr's ahead of Liam O'Brien from Midleton, who from 1980, would win the race four times.

That record was stretched to six by Noel Berkeley of Dundrum South Dublin, who began his streak in 1996.

Both Liam and Noel were very much present for last Sunday's 40th anniversary race.

Back after missing last year was Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe, who had won the race for the five years between 2011 and 2015.

He was up against Mick Clohisey of Raheny, who is the man to beat on the Irish roads at the moment. It was Clohisey who came out on top in 49 mins 20 secs with Ciobanu was second in 49:46 and a delighted Kevin Maunsell of Clonmel third in 49:54.

Winning the women's race for a second time was Siobhan O'Doherty of Borrisokane in 58 mins 9 sec.

A record total of 2,963 finished from the lucky 4,100 allocated race numbers.

No other race attracts the same level of frenzy as Ballycotton; it is the race every half-decent road runner wants to try at least once.It shows Ireland at its best.

Without the co-operation of every single inhabitant of Ballycotton the race quite simply would not happen. Long may it flourish.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News