| 14.2°C Dublin

Big 200m win for Adeleke in Athlone


Rhasidat Adeleke wins the Junior Women’s 200m

Rhasidat Adeleke wins the Junior Women’s 200m


Rhasidat Adeleke wins the Junior Women’s 200m

As expected, Rhasidat Adeleke of Tallaght AC blazed away from the field to win the 200m at the National Junior and U23 Championships held in Athlone.

Her time of 23.99 was not too far outside her own 2018 national record of 23.80 secs and put her well over a second clear of the chasers.

Winning both the U23 200m and 60m level was Ciara Neville of Limerick AC.

In the 60m, her winning time of 7.33 secs, while outside her own national record of 7.30 secs broke Phil Healy's 2016 championships record of 7.47 secs. Also inside that time was second placed Molly Scott of St LOT AC.

The women's junior 60m produced one of the closest finishes of the day with Adeyemi Talabi from Longford AC the winner in 7.57secs. Just one hundredths of a second behind in 7.58 secs was Patience Jumbo Gula of Dundalk St Gerard's AC.

Winning the junior men's 60m in 6.91 secs was Israel Olatunde of UCD AC, with DSD's Jack Olivier second in 6.95 secs and Ryan O'Leary of Leevale third in 6.97.

Olivier, a French national with a 47.22 secs PB for 400m, went on to win the 200m, with his time of 21.60 secs knocking one-hundredths of a second off Mark Smyth's 2017 record of 21.61 secs.

Smyth was in action at U23 level, winning the 200m in 21.36 secs, with Paul McDermott of Donore Harriers second in 21.84 secs.

Tope Adeyeye of Sli Cualann AC won the men's U23 60m, beating Tallaght trio - Joseph Ojemumi, Joseph Finnegan Murphy and Simon Essuman.

On a good day for Tallaght, Jennifer Hanrahan won the junior long jump beating Ruby Millet of St Abban's.