| 14.1°C Dublin

Athletics round-up

O'REGAN RETAINS CROWN: John O'Regan from Leixlip won the Energia 24-hour race in Bangor for a second year. Despite over 16 hours of torrential rain, he covered over 129 miles -- not far off his 132 all-comers' record set last year.

With Eoin Keith dopping out with a stomach bug and double world record holder Sharon Gayter from Teeside also forced to quit, Kerry-based Austrian Thomas Bubendorfer finished second with an impressive total of 126 miles.

Aisling Coppinger in her first 24-hour race was best of the women, running just over 100 miles.

Winning the 12-hour race with a total of 65 miles was Dubliner Sean Burke, while first in the 24-hour relay with a total of 181 miles was Donadea Running Club.

GREGAN FACES WARRINER: Brian Gregan and Joanne Cuddihy lead the local entry at the Cork City Sports in the CIT next Tuesday. Gregan takes on 2004 Olympic champion Jeremy Warriner in the men's 400m, while in the women's 400m, Cuddihy lines out against previous winner Moushaumi Robinson from the USA as well as her Irish 4x400m team-mates Marian Heffernan, Jessie Barr and Catriona Cuddihy. Kelly Proper goes in the 100m, while Fionnuala Britton, Maria McCambridge and Lizzie Lee are all pencilled in for the 3000m. A packed day begins with a food fair from 3.30pm, children's races from 5.30-6.30pm and the international meet after that.

LAWLOR'S SPANISH QUEST: Already under way in Barcelona is the World Junior Championships with Marcus Lawlor lining out in the 200m heats tomorrow, along with Ben Kiely in the 400m hurdles. Mark English, who hoped to make the London 2012 team, starts his 800m campaign against a strong African field on Friday, along with Sarah Lavin in the 100m hurdles.

JUNIORS PLACE FIFTH: Both Irish junior teams finished fifth at the European mountain running championships held on parched terrain in blazing heat in Pamukkale-Denizli, Turkey. Good individual performances came from Sarah McCormack 8th senior women, Louise Hill-Stirling 10th junior women and Jake O'Regan 10th junior men.