| 4.8°C Dublin

Maguire of Benildus proves the master in the muck

James Maguire (pictured) of St Benildus showed that he is still the one to beat when he won the inter boys race at yesterday's East Leinster Schools Cross-Country, hosted by Blackrock College.

Maguire took an early lead in the damp conditions and finished comfortably clear of Cillian ó Dhochartaigh from Coláiste Eoin and Blackrock's Conor Halpin.

In a replay of Brother Cross-Country in Santry last month, Sarah Healy of Holy Child Killiney again beat Mount Anville's Annie Rose Farrell and Abby Taylor of St Gerard's in the girls' junior race. This time, not much separated the three on the rain-sodden course.

Coláiste íosagáin had a good day, winning three of the four girls' races. Ella de Brun led home about 150 girls in the minor race, while Niamh Ní Chiara won the inter race from Aoife Colleran of Loreto Foxrock and Holy Child's Elisha De-Alker.

In the senior race, Eileen Scanlan beat her team-mate Sorcha Furlong, with Coláiste íosagáin edging out the High School girls in the team category.

Another school having a good day was Templeogue College. Conor Hanrahan won the junior race from Max McKenna of Blackrock, while in a thrilling senior race, Dylan Keegan made an impressive comeback.

Keegan tucked in behind Blackrock pair Christian McKenna and Luke McCann, only sprinting past them on the final bend. McCann then passed McKenna for second place.


Girls - Minor: 1 E de Brun (Col íosagáin), 2 C Ní Eachan ( Col íosagáin), 3 J Barlow (Alex). Teams - 1 Loreto Stephen's Green, 2 Muckross. Junior: 1 S Healy (HC Killiney), 2 A Farrell (Mt Anville), 3 A Taylor (St Gerard's). Teams: 1 Holy Child Killiney, 2 Loreto, 3 Mount Anville. Inter: 1 N Ní Chiara (Col íosagáin), 2 A Colleran (Loreto Foxrock), 3 El De Alker (HC Killiney). Teams: 1 Loreto Foxrock, 2 Mt Anville, 3 Col íoságain. Senior: 1 E Scanláin (Col íosagáin), 2 S Furlong (Col íosagáin), 3 E Shiels (Lor Stephen's Green). Teams: 1 Loreto Foxrock, 2 High School, 3 Alexandra College.

Boys - Minor: 1 J Hogan (St Benildus), 2 S Murray (Willow Pk), 3 A Heavey (Willow Pk). Teams: 1 Willow Park, 2 Templeogue College, 3 Belvedere. Junior: 1 C Hanrahan (Templeogue), 2 M McKenna (Blackrock), 3 B Guiden (Belvedere). Teams: 1 Belvedere, 2 Templeogue, 3 CBC Monkstown. Inter: 1 J Maguire (St Benildus), 2 C O Dhochartaigh (Col Eoin), 3 C Halpin (Blackrock). Teams: 1 St Benildus, 2 Belvedere, 3 Blackrock. Senior: 1 D Keegan (Templeogue), 2 L McCann (Blackrock), 3 C McKenna (Blackrock). Teams: 1 Blackrock, 2 Gonzaga, 3 Belvedere.