| 13.8°C Dublin

Murphy to get plum Millisle ride


Shane Foley on Millisle

Shane Foley on Millisle

Shane Foley on Millisle

Kerry jockey Oisín Murphy has picked up the plum ride on Millisle in next Sunday's English 1,000 Guineas as he teams up with trainer Jessica Harrington for the first time.

Strict Coronavirus regulations have ruled out regular rider Shane Foley as the Kilkenny rider would have to quarantine for 14 days upon his return - and miss the Irish Guineas meeting on June 12/13 - were he to make the trip across the Irish Sea.

Harrington has instead opted to book the Newmarket-based Murphy with the 24-year-old champion jockey taking the mount on last year's Cheveley Park Stakes winner, which is a general 10/1 shot for the British Classic.

Meanwhile, there will be no mixed Irish meetings until after the August Bank Holiday weekend at the earliest "to minimise the number of people working at the racecourse".

Horse Racing Ireland (HRI) released their jumps programme for the coming months with 24 National Hunt meetings at 12 different racecourses once the jump action resumes on June 22 until early August.

Kilbeggan, Killarney, Downpatrick and Tramore are the latest tracks to be added to the roster while the Galway Festival (July 27-August 2) is significantly changed, although the Galway Plate and Galway Hurdle will remain on the Wednesday and Thursday as normal.

Renault to stay with F1

Renault has reaffirmed its commitment to Formula One despite announcing that almost 15,000 jobs will go worldwide as part of a €2million cost-saving package over the next three years.

The measures were announced during an online press conference yesterday morning as the Renault Group warned it needed to respond to a major crisis facing the automotive industry amid the coronavirus pandemic.

However, interim chief executive Clotilde Delbos said the measures will not include a withdrawal from Formula One.

"We have said publicly and we can confirm that we remain committed to Formula One," Delbos said.

Renault returned to F1 in 2016 but is yet to replicate the success it enjoyed prior to leaving in 2010, with the last of its drivers' titles won by Fernando Alonso in 2006.