Friday 22 February 2019

Walsh throws Mayo curve ball

Kevin Walsh. Pic: Sportsfile
Kevin Walsh. Pic: Sportsfile

Kevin Walsh has sprung a couple of surprises in his Galway team named for Sunday's hugely-anticipated Connacht SFC clash with Mayo in Mac Hale Park, Castlebar (4.0).

Eamonn Brannigan, Peter Cooke and Seán Kelly - all of whom were to the fore in Galway's highly impressive Division 1 campaign this spring - have been left out of the official starting 15.

In their stead, the experienced Gary O'Donnell, Tom Flynn and Seán Armstrong have been listed to play.

Brannigan in particular had been expected to play a big role for Galway this summer after a strong League campaign at wing-forward while Cooke forged an excellent midfield partnership with Paul Conroy.

Walsh has also named three would-be debutants as he bids to orchestrate a third Championship victory over Mayo in consecutive seasons.


Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Ciarán Duggan and Barry McHugh will all make their first summer starts for the Tribesmen if they line out as listed.

Mayo meanwhile, have just one debutant, corner-back Eoin O'Donoghue.

Keith Higgins is named after missing all of their League campaign as he opted to line out with the Mayo hurlers while 2016 Footballer of the Year, Lee Keegan, misses out with a shoulder injury.

MAYO (SFC v Galway): D Clarke; E O'Donoghue, G Cafferkey, K Higgins; P Durcan, C Boyle, S Coen; S O'Shea, T Parsons; K McLoughlin, A O'Shea, D O'Connor; C Loftus, C O'Connor, A Moran.

GALWAY (SF): R Lavelle; D Kyne, SA Ó Ceallaigh, E Kerin; G O'Donnell, G Bradshaw, C Sweeney; T Flynn, C Duggan; S Walsh, P Conroy, J Heaney; S Armstrong, D Comer, B McHugh.

LAOIS (SFC v Wexford): G Brody; R Fennell, M Timmons, G Dillon; T Collins, C Begley, S Attride; J O'Loughlin, K Lillis; A Farrell, D Kingston, D O'Connor; R Munnelly, D Conway, G Walsh.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News