Thursday 24 January 2019

U14s enjoy mixed bag in Forrestal and Walsh Cups

dublin U14 HURLERS

Both Dublin's 'A' and 'B' teams produced some encouraging displays as they contested the Tony Forrestal and Sonny Walsh tournaments in Waterford last Saturday.

The Dublin 'A' team started off brightly as they comfortably overcame Laois by 5-9 to 1-1 in their opening fixture with Tom Aherne and Ciarán Murphy excelling defensively for the Dubs.

It proved slightly trickier in their next game and despite the positive contributions of Mark Grogan, Lee Gannon, Seán Clerkin and Andrew Carroll, Dublin succumbed to an excellent Cork outfit by 1-9 to 0-3.

Despite the loss, there were plenty of positives for team mentor Willie Bourke to derive from the performances.

"The Cork game brought us back down to earth but some of the performances that the lads produced was very encouraging and we were pleasantly surprised with the development of some of the panel," he said.

There was also misfortune for the 'B' team as they were very unlucky to lose to Wexford in their opening fixture, eventually losing by two points.

Another loss to Cork followed for Dublin with the Rebel impressing in their 2-9 to 1-3 defeat.

Dublin 'B' left their best to last as they defeated Kilkenny by 3-4 to 1-7 with Charlie Rudden, Andy Dunphy, Daragh Kiernan, Killian Kirwan, Pádraig Purcell and John Meagher all highlighting their potential.

"The lads learnt a lot as did the management so it was a very positive weekend," said Burke.

Dublin 'A': Tadhg Dunbar (Kilmacud Crokes), Michael Conroy (Cuala), Ciaran Murphy (Whitehall Colmcille), Herkus Sviglinskas (Lucan Sarsfields), Tom Aherne (Ballinteer St John's), Ian Walsh (Kilmacud Crokes), Kevin Kirwan (Cuala), Lee Gannon (Whitehall Colmcille), Mark Grogan (Kilmacud Crokes), Enda O'Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille), Andrew Carroll (Lucan Sarsfields), Seán Kinsella ((Kilmacud Crokes), Cian Corcoran (Castleknock), Seán Clerkin (St Oliver Plunkett's/ER), Fionn Ó Ceallaigh (Kilmacud Crokes), Cormac Spain (Cuala), James O'Connell (St Brigid's), Kevin Burke (Na Fianna), James Dillon (Kilmacud Crokes), Conor Kinsella (Kilmacud Crokes), Liam Murphy (Cuala), John Sammon (Parnells), Jack Daly-Kenny (Ballyboden St Enda's), Seán Farrelly (Raheny), Darragh Hewson (Castleknock).

Dublin 'B': Jordan Leonard (Whitehall Colmcille), John Meagher (St Brigid's), Andy Dunphy (St Brigid's), Charlie Rudden (St Brigid's), Jack Fagan (Raheny), Daragh Kiernan (Round Tower Lusk), Conor Scully (St Oliver Plunkett's/ER), Ruairi Mac Mathúna (Ballyboden St Enda's), Sam Beirnes (St Peregrine's), Cillian Kirwan (Ballyboden St Enda's), Pádraig Purcell (Kilmacud Crokes), Des Duggan (Clan na Gael Fontenoy), Michael Murphy (Na Fianna), Billy Ryan (Craobh Chiaráin), Luke Nugent (Erin's Isle), James Mulcahy (St Vincent's), Liam Foley (St Sylvester's), Cian McHugh (Lucan Sarsfields), Cillian Foran (Naomh Mearnóg), Eoghan O'Connor (Lucan Sarsfields), Fiachra Potts (Na Fianna), Jacques Dalton (Ballyboden St Enda's), Luke McDwyer (Ballyboden St Enda's), Conor Berrigan (Erin's Isle).

Promoted articles

Entertainment News