Saturday 7 December 2019

Rossies attack re-jigged for final

Anthony Cunningham
Anthony Cunningham

Anthony Cunningham has made significant changes to the attack for Roscommon's Connacht SFC final against his native Galway in Salthill on Sunday (4.0).

Conor Devaney, Diarmuid Murtagh and Enda Smith have all been listed to start as Cunningham opts to change half of his forward division from the team that beat Mayo three weeks ago.

All three appeared as substitutes that day as Roscommon recorded a first Championship victory over Mayo in Castlebar in 33 years.

Hubert D'Arcy, Andrew Glennon and Ultan Harney are the players to make way.

Cunningham is looking to land a Connacht title for Roscommon at the first time of asking having managed Galway to their first Leinster SHC title in 2012.


Kevin Walsh, meanwhile, has made just a single change to the team that beat Sligo as Galway go in search of back-to-back provincial titles for the first time since 2002/'03.

Corofin's Kieran Molloy is replaced by Gary O'Donnell at right half-back while team captain Damien Comer again misses out an ankle injury.

Molloy's absence is also due to an ankle injury.

Meanwhile, Cillian O'Connor could make his first appearance of 2019 for Mayo against Down on Saturday week after appearing in a challenge match against Clare last weekend.

O'Connor, Mayo's top scorer in League and Championship football, is understood to have played 20 minutes of the clash against the Banner men in what was his first action in a Mayo jersey since last year's All-Ireland SFC qualifier defeat to Kildare in Newbridge.

The Ballintubber man underwent surgery on his knee last year after his club's Connacht final defeat to Corofin.

Mayo, meanwhile, have expressed their unhappiness over the 7.0 throw-in time for their All-Ireland football qualifier tie away to the Mourne men.

ROSCOMMON (SF v Galway): D O'Malley; D Murray, S Mullooly, C Daly; N Daly, C Hussey, R Daly; T O'Rourke, S Killoran; C Devaney, C Cregg, N Kilroy; D Murtagh, C Cox, E Smith

GALWAY: B Power; E Kerin, SA O'Ceallaigh, L Silke; G O'Donnell, G Bradshaw, J Daly; T Flynn, F O'Curraoin; S Walsh, M Daly, J Heaney; A O'Laoi, I Burke, D Cummins.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News