Wednesday 16 January 2019

Rebels yell as they edge U17 decider

Cork 1-19 Dublin 1-17

Dublin's Tom Aherne with Cork's Sean Twomey. Photo: Sportsfile
Dublin's Tom Aherne with Cork's Sean Twomey. Photo: Sportsfile

It proved a desperately disappointing day for Dublin as they narrowly succumbed to Cork by two points in their All-Ireland Under 17 Hurling Championship final at Croke Park yesterday lunchtime.

The pivotal moment arrived in the 42nd minute when midfielder Tom Aherne was harshly dismissed on a second booking with Cork doing just enough to prevail against a spirited Dublin challenge in the final quarter.

Dublin impressed initially with early points from Aherne, Billy Ryan, Liam Murphy and Kevin Kirwan easing them three points clear and although Cork levelled matters by the 17th minute, Dublin regained their lead following a 20th minute penalty by goalkeeper Eddie Gibbons.

Cork responded to that setback with a goal of their own through Joe Stack as they edged 1-9 to 1-8 clear by half-time.

Gibbons failed to find the net from a second penalty seven minutes upon the restart and Aherne's dismissal was another setback they had to overcome and Cork managed to take advantage of that decision through late points by Owen McCarthy and Daire Connery.

Scorers - Cork: D Connery 0-6 (5f), Colin O'Brien 0-5 (3f), D Hanlon 0-3, J Stack 1-0, B Murphy, O McCarthy 0-2 each, Cormac O'Brien 0-1. Dublin: L Murphy 0-7 (7f), E Gibbons 1-1 (1-0 pen, 0-1 pen), B Ryan, L Gannon 0-2 each, E O'Donnell, T Aherne, M Murphy ('65'), M Grogan, K Kirwan 0-1 each.

Cork: E Davis; E Roche, C Nyhan, R Sheehan; Cormac O'Brien, C O'Callaghan, A Walsh Barry; D Connery, S Twomey; B Roche, D Hanlon, T O'Connell; B Murphy, J Stack, Colin O'Brien. Subs: R McCarthy for Cormac O'Brien (23-31, Blood Sub), O McCarthy for O'Connell (35), S Barrett for Murphy (53).

Dublin: E Gibbons; A Dunphy, K Burke, T Kinnane; L Gannon, E O'Donnell, S Kinsella; T Aherne, M Murphy; K Kirwan, B Ryan, M Grogan; L McDwyer, L Murphy, K Desmond. Subs: S Clerkin for Desmond (44), L Dunne for M Murphy (52), M Sweeney for Kirwan (54).

Ref: John Keane (Galway).

Promoted articles

Entertainment News