| 3.5°C Dublin

Plunkett’s hero Hayes hits late free to break ’Knock hearts

St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh were made to work all the way as they accounted for a gallant Catleknock by the narrowest of margins in their absorbing Division 2 final at Blakestown Road on Sunday.

The contest highlighted the tight nature of the group with Killian Hayes’ late free eventually separating the well-matched sides.

Hayes was a number of heroes for Plunkett’s over the weekend as his late score in the group stages also accounted for Erin’s Isle.

He was ably abetted on the scoresheet by Sean Clerkin and Conor Scully while their midfield pairing of Tom Cullen and Sean Cassidy worked tirelessly to gain the initiative in the middle third.


Further down the field, Conor Liston delivered a series of immense performances at full-back, ensuring Plunkett’s an outstanding last line of defence while the youthful Ben McSweeney was another to shine for the winners from wing-back.

“It was a great team performance in which the whole panel made a massive contribution to our success,” said Plunkett’s boss Fintan Hayes. “This is the highest level at Féile that the club have ever won in their long history and that is a huge honour for all the lads involved. It was a superbly run competition and everyone involved from players to mentors hugely enjoyed the weekend.”

Castleknock produced a string of impressive displays over the weekend as they qualified from their group that contained Kilmacud Crokes B, St Jude’s and host club Naomh Mearnóg.

Adam Feely and Oisin McKay typified their sides commitment over the two days while their goalkeeper Shane Carolan was equally impressive with a series of strong displays between the sticks.

“I was delighted with all the panel over the weekend,” said Castleknock manager Brian McCann. “We had a few under 13s with us and everyone more than played their part in getting us as far as we did,” he said.

St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER: 
O Brennan, A Browne, O Carroll, F Carton, S Clerkin, S Cassidy, 
C Diskin, C Downey, K Hayes, 
J Hudson, R Kershaw, C Liston, 
S McGreevey, E Meleady, 
O Ó Maolagáin, I Popa, P Ruane, C Scully, B Bergin, T Cullen, 
R Howe, I Sherry, B McSweeney, K Ashton.

Castleknock: L McCann, 
E Lyons, O McKay, D Hewson, 
C Murphy, A Feely, A Kearney, 
L Bracken, D Warnock, S Carolan, M Byrne, S Quinn, D McInerney, 
P Flynn, S Mealia, L Toland, 
R Cullen, L Gubbins, S McCormack, C Dorman, C Hosford, C Corcoran, H Hogan.