| 1.1°C Dublin

Parker drives st Pat's to title

St Patrick's, Palmerstown produced a dominant second-half performance as they deservedly overcame a talented St Maur's outfit by 4-11 to 3-4 in their Dublin U16 Football League Division 2 final in Rush last Saturday afternoon.

After an extremely even opening-half, the visitors highlighted their potential with a superb second-half display with the influential Tadhg Parker landing a pivotal blow for St Pat's with an early goal upon the restart.

From that point, St Patrick's took complete control with Jake Walker adding a brace of goals soon after, ultimately taking the game away from a disappointed home outfit.

Parker and Warren Mitchell combined well throughout at centrefield for the winners while behind them, Jack Ahearne was rock solid at full-back, offering great protection to the composed goalkeeper Matthew O'Connell.

Try as they might, St Maur's struggled to show their true potential over the hour but they can take some solace in the performances of Cathal Price, Conor Devine, Jordan Yeates, Robert Halpin, Stephen Bogan and Greg Wallace.

However, their efforts proved in vain as St Patrick's put daylight between the teams after the break with Aaron Gunnery, Evan Walshe and Dean McGrane landing critical scores as the contest evolved.

"We are absolutely thrilled with the win," said St Patrick's manager David Dunne.

"We won Division 4 last year so to do the same in Division 2 is a remarkable achievement," he added.

"Pat's were the better team on the day and they deserved their win," was the assessment of St Maur's manager Darren Rock.

St Patrick's Palmerstown: M O'Connell, S Simpson, J Ahearne, L Brophy, N Dunne, N Rogers, A Rogers, W Mitchell, T Parker, E Walshe, C McGrane, A Gunnery, D Roche, R Nduribi, P Murphy, J Boylan, E Massey, O Fahey, J McCrea, J Clarke, B Mooney, J Walker.

St Maur's: J Yeates, P Jones, L McGuinness, C Daly, K Kelly, D McNamara, G Wallace, C Barry, L Laverty, R O'Shea, A Kelly Kiernan, C Devine, C Archer, N Rock, C Comiskey, C Monks, S Bogan, L Ring, R Halpin, S Whelan, A Meighan, Z Campbell.