| -0.2°C Dublin

O'Neill leads Boden past brave Rialto

Ballyboden St Enda's delivered a determined performance when accounting for an unfortunate Rialto Gaels by 2-8 to 2-4 in their Dublin Under 15 Hurling League Division 5 final at Dolphin Park last Sunday morning.

The winners were indebted to the display of Adam O'Neill, with the captain leading by example in the Boden engine room.

O'Neill received valuable support in midfield from Dillon Dunleavy, while wing-back Cormac Kelly was hugely influential over the hour for St Enda's.

"I think we had a bit of luck that you sometimes need in finals," said Ballyboden manager Tom McGrath.

"We were under a lot of pressure for large parts of the game but all our backs played very well and I was delighted with how they played.


"Despite the weather over the weekend, it was a great game between two very good sides and I'd like to commend Rialto Gaels who were very sporting and gave us an excellent game," added McGrath.

In attack, St Enda's impressed through the efforts of Luke McDwyer and Jonathan O'Donoghue as their contributions took the game away from the hosts.

For Rialto Gaels, it was a tale of missed opportunities but they can take great credit from the manner in which they played over the hour.

Their solidity was highlighted by the performance of goalkeeper Jack Murray and he received excellent protection throughout from full-back Josh Brennan.

The hosts were boosted by an early goal from Aaron Byrne with wing-forward Dylan Byrne a constant threat to the Boden defence.

"We had enough chances," was the assessment of Rialto manager Robbie Lupton.

"However, the better team won on the day," added Lupton, who was delighted with the displays of centre-back Conor Byrne and Adam Mitchell.

Ballyboden St Enda's: A O'Neill, B Byrne, C Delaney, C Cashman, C O'Meara, J McCall, D Kelly, J O'Reilly, J Francis, J Duff, J O'Donoghue, K McGrath, M Ryan, R Hester, S Mahon, S Garvey, D Nugent, O Murray, T Chung, C Kelly, D Dunleavy, L McDwyer.

Rialto Gaels: J Murray, C Halton, J Brennan, C Wilson, A Byrne, D Byrne, C Byrne, C Hoban, O O'Mahony, DJ Moore, J Horan, J Dunphy, A Mitchell, G Hales, L Moran, C Balfe, C Mooney, R Thomas, O Darcy, D Hennessy, L Dowling, C Cooper, T Hendrick, C Kazadi, R Brady, D Moore, J Naughton, B Lupton.