| 8.3°C Dublin

O'Donnell delivers for Whitehall

Whitehall Colmcille claimed the Dublin Under 14 Football league Division 1 title as they eventually got the better of a talented St Vincent's by 4-12 to 2-10 at Chanel College last Saturday afternoon.

Whitehall started as slight favourites having finished three points clear of their opponents in the league but a physical and hard-working St Vincent's were determined to get revenge on their northside neighbours from the opening whistle.

Whitehall began in determined fashion, however, and they enjoyed an early 0-3 to 0-1 advantage following scores by Jordan Leonard, Lee Gannon and Seán Lyons.

However, with Andy Gilroy in exceptional form, Vinnies rocked their opponents when hitting 2-2 without reply to turn their deficit into a seven-point lead by the end of the first quarter.

Body blow

Colmcille responded superbly to this body blow and the redeployment of Enda O'Donnell from full-back to full-forward reaped instant dividends as he shot 1-1 to springboard a dominant second quarter which saw Whitehall kick five successive points to lead by two at the turnaround.

Whitehall continued in the ascendancy after the break, stretching their lead to five points before Gilroy replied for the Marino side with two scores of his own, to complement the excellent work of Paddy Ryan, Ryan Dunne (who hit 0-5), Kevin Doyle, Mark Sweeney, Jack O'Meara, Ciarán Fogarty and James Mulcahy, with the latter adding an excellent goal to keep Vinnies' ambitions alive.

O'Donnell bagged a brace of goals soon after and another tactical switch saw Matthew Swan leave his goalkeeping duties to plunder 1-1 as Colmcille prevailed thanks to massive contributions by Ciarán George, Seán Lyons and Josh Thorp.

"It has been a year of highs and lows," said Whitehall mentor Diarmuid Murphy. "This group got to the Féile football and hurling Division 1 finals and were very unlucky to lose the football decider but they are a great bunch of lads to work with and winning the league was a great way to end the year."

Whitehall Colmcille: A McNally, Cian Murphy, C George, Ciarán Murphy, C Gleeson, D Cummins, D Roche, D O'Connell, E O'Donnell, J Murray, J Byrne, J Leonard, J Thorp, L Gannon, M Swan, P Moloney, S Stafford, S Maguire, S Lyons, L Doyle.

St Vincent's: P Kavanagh, C Kelly, J Cullen, P Ryan, M Sweeney, K Doyle, C Fogarty, M McCrudden, E Davilas, S Lowry, R Dunne, J O'Meara, S O'Connor, A Gilroy, J Mulcahy, T Murray, M Carberry, S Gormley, E Green, E Moore.