| 8.5°C Dublin

New Dubs boss Ger Cunningham plays a waiting game


The new Dublin hurling manager Ger Cunningham

The new Dublin hurling manager Ger Cunningham


The new Dublin hurling manager Ger Cunningham

AS yet, no member of the 2014 Dublin senior hurling panel has opted out for next season.

New boss Ger Cunningham met this year's squad and selected others after his media unveiling two Fridays back to outline his plans for 2015 and so far, none have indicated that they will definitely retire, although a small number are understood to be considering their futures.

Former captain Stephen Hiney had considered hanging up his inter-county boots prior to the beginning of this year due to spiralling work and family commitments and may be doing likewise this year.

Conal Keaney, 32, and Niall Corcoran, 33, are now the elder statesmen of the squad but both were Championship starters last year and similarly, both appear fit and motivated for at least another season with Dublin.

And it was clear from Cunningham and his backroom team that they would not be forcing anyone into the inter-county wilderness.


Speaking to the Herald, selector Gearóid Ó Riain explained: "We're very clear that age is not going to be a deciding factor. It will be about freshness. To change and improve.

"So we're going to be taking the best and the best potential out of a whole range of ages, from minor upwards."

Cunningham's first official match as Dublin manager will come at the annual Dublin Bus/Herald Dubs Stars challenge which this year, will take place in Parnell's grounds, Chanel, off the Malahide Road on New Year's Day.

The hurling match will serve as the day's curtain-raiser prior to the football, although throw-in times have yet to be confirmed.

After that, Dublin will play in Group 2 of the 2015 Walsh Cup, a programme which features confirmed home matches against both DIT, on January 18, and Antrim, a week later.

Cunningham's team will play Galway, Cork and Tipperary at home in Division 1A of the Allianz League, with away clashes against the last two All-Ireland champions, Kilkenny and Clare.