| -1.4°C Dublin

Mchugh to fore in na fianna win

NA FIANNA took the Dublin AFL Division 1 title at Russell Park last night.

Sharper finishing, especially in the second half, saw them home.

The Rush team had their chances. They hit a basket of wides. The Glasnevin side also missed the target on several occasions. The poor conditions didn't help the players. It poured rain for the entire second half.

A big crowd turned up under the lights. Many buses arrived from the North County.

Maur's led at the break, 0-4 to 0-3. They began brightly enough in the second period, but the Mobhi defence stood tall. And the longer the half went on, the more assured Pillar Caffrey's team became.

In attack, the talented Conor McHugh was a major asset. He had good support from Adam Caffrey and David McGrath.

The ace for Maur's was Conor McGuire. Their captain, Chris Carthy, also toiled to open doors. Ryan O'Flaherty, in the Na Fianna goal, made a valuable double-stop in the second half. The centre half-back, Tomás Brady, was also a commanding figure.

After the sides were level on five points each, Na Fianna enjoyed a golden spell with three unanswered points. They came from the boots of Adam Caffrey, McHugh and Senan Coughlan.

It had looked after the tea that Maur's were on the up. Yet too often chances went the wrong side of the posts. But not by much. Yet it has been a memorable season for Maur's, the Senior B champions. But as the hour began to close, Na Fianna firmly wrapped the tie with strikes from Jack Caffrey and Odhran ó Maoileidigh.

SCORERS - NA Fianna: C McHugh 0-3, A Caffrey (1f), D McGrath 0-2 each, S Coughlan, J Caffrey (f), D Quinn, O O Maoileidigh 0-1 each. Naomh Maur: C McGuire 0-4 (3f), C Carthy 0-2, V Whelan 0-1 (f).

NA FIANNA: R O'Flaherty; A Farrell, N Cooper, J Kelly; S Coughlan, T Brady, E Mullan; P Quinn, C O'Connor; J Caffrey, A Caffrey, D Quinn; D McGrath, C McHugh, N Flannery. Subs: E Connolly for J Caffrey; JJ Martin for D Quinn; E Neville for McGrath; O O Maoileidigh for McHugh.

NAOMH MAUR: M Butterly; P Butterly, S McGuinness, K Sweetman; E Fletcher, N Walsh, L Fletcher; M O'Reilly, C Redmond; D McGuinness, C Sweetman, D O'Donnell; C Carthy, C McGuire, V Whelan. Subs: K Watson for C Sweetman; J Burke for O'Donnell.