| 3.7°C Dublin

Larriers rise like Lazarus to lift title

O'Toole's delivered a storming comeback as they accounted for a battling St Mary's Saggart by 5-14 to 4-15 in their Dublin U16 Football League Division 6 final at Blunden Drive last Saturday afternoon.

The hosts trailed by nine points at one stage during the first-half but their spirit could not be questioned as they hauled themselves back into contention before getting the job done after extra-time.

Seán Taaffe epitomised the efforts of the hosts with a tireless display at midfield while Jordan Dunne, goalkeeper Paul Miller and full-back Adam Caul were others to make notable contributions for O'Toole's.

Wing-back Brendan Greaney made some enterprising sorties into enemy territory and he was rewarded with a vital goal in extra time after the game had finished 4-9 to 3-12 after extra-time.

Conor Moran's two goals ensured the hosts were able to remain in contention despite conceding regular scores in the first half and their midfield pairing of Evan O'Dowd and Robert McBride scrapped incessantly for primary possession.


"The lads are all delighted with the win," said Larriers manager Ray Sheehy. "We started slowly but we kept plugging away and the lads showed a lot of heart to come back from such a large deficit.

"It was a great game of football between two evenly matched sides but thankfully we came out on the right side."

St Mary's settled into the game well in the first quarter but did not take their chances.

Then Michael O'Leary struck with two goals from wing half forward, and the game sparked into life with both sides then awarded a penalty each as St Mary's converted theirs via midfielder Kyle Butler and saving the O'Toole's attempt through goalkeeper Dylan Farrell.

In the second half, both sides really went at it with solid defensive performances for St Mary's from Adam McCabe and Michael O'Keeffe while Adam McGarr in midfield shone with James Timmons, Dylan Featherson and Cian Rushe impressing up front.

O'Toole's: P Miller, J Prendergast, A Caul, C Wilkes, B Greaney, C Marjoram, J Guerin, R McBride, E O'Dowd, S Taaffe, J Dunne, F Shortall, C Moran, J Sheehy, D Grimes, A Dunne, D Hegarty, J McCarthy, D Kelly, C Whelan, J Fitzpatrick.

St Mary's, Saggart: D Farrell, P Seskauskas, M O'Keeffe, C Holbrook, S Jameson, T Toomey, A McCabe, A McGarr, K Butler, M O'Leary, J Morris, C Rushe, D Ó Nuailláin, J Timmons, D Featherson, S Dungan, A Petras, A Drewitt , S Kavanagh, C O'Leary.