Thursday 23 November 2017

Lally’s transfer request could face opposition

DUBLIN All-Ireland winner Declan Lally is seeking a change of clubs, prompting the possibility of another transfer wrangle in the capital.

Lally wants to make a short hop up the Navan Road from St Brigid’s to St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh, and his formal request is included in the 2012 list of Dublin adult transfer applications received by the county board.

This list was last night sent out to secretaries of all the Dublin clubs, who have until January 17 to oppose individual applications. As an All-Ireland winning panellist under Pat Gilroy, 2011 was a year to remember for Lally although his on-pitch summer involvement was confined to two late Leinster cameos against Laois and Kildare.

However, it proved a more turbulent season on the club front.

The player fell out of favour with senior management at St Brigid’s who, in his absence, duly went on to claim a second Evening Herald Dublin SFC title and then reached the AIB Leinster club final, losing narrowly to Garrycastle the week before Christmas.

Lally concluded the season playing with the second team at the Russell Park club as they tried in vain to fend off relegation from Adult FL Division 3 - losing to St Mark’s in the Relegation Final.

Clearly, Lally feels that his club future lies elsewhere and hence the application, although it’s understood that Brigid’s may object.

If that proves the case, we could yet see another saga similar to Eamon Fennell’s long-running (and eventually successful) quest to transfer from his native O’Toole’s to St Vincent’s. The transfer list also includes two other players who have featured at inter-county level in Sky Blue. Warren Finnegan, an All-Ireland junior winner with the Dubs in 2008, is looking to rejoin St Brigid’s after spending a number of seasons with Fingal Ravens.

Meanwhile, former Dublin minor ’keeper Graham Bedford wants to make the move from Erin’s Isle to Ballymun Kickhams. Bedford was minor custodian in 2008 and was then sub ’keeper on the Dublin U21 panel that achieved All-Ireland glory in 2010.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News