| -1.4°C Dublin

Knock's super sub Finn breaks Maur's hearts

Castleknock withstood a brave St Maur's challenge when deservedly prevailing by 3-11 to 3-6 in their Dublin Under 15 'B' Football Championship final at Blakestown Road last Sunday.

Trailing by four points at the break, Castleknock resumed in determined fashion and they were rewarded for their perseverance against a highly talented and competitive St Maur's team.

Ultimately, the brace of goals scored by Darragh Warnock before the break were the decisive scores as they allowed Castleknock to remain in contention despite playing against the elements in the opening period.

The Rush outfit played a fine style of football, mixed with the determination and application associated with their teams and their efforts were epitomised by Tom O'Neill and Neil Rock.

Adam Kelly orchestrated matters in their vibrant attack in the first half while Adam Brogan was another player to excel from centre-half forward.

However, the black card received by the influential Cian Savage was a massive blow for St Maur's especially as they only enjoyed a four-point advantage at half-time, despite the benefit of the breeze in the first half.


That they didn't enjoy a more commanding lead at the interval was also down to the exceptional saves produced by Johnny O'Shea in the Castleknock goal, with O'Shea denying St Maur's with some high-quality stops to keep his team's hopes alive.

Despite improving their lot in terms of possession after the break, Castleknock still took a while to get going and it was hugely helpful to their cause when Seán Ryan landed three points from long-distance frees to keep their scoreboard ticking over.

Of equal significance was the contribution of Daire Finn with the substitute amassing a sizeable 1-4 upon his introduction and he was one of five subs who played prominent roles for the winners.

Seán Keenan was a dominant figure in the second half with Robert McCormack equally influential as Castleknock confirmed their win through Finn's goal in injury time.

"Everybody played their part and thankfully we got there in the end," said Castleknock manager Barry Ryan. "I think the five-point margin flattered us in the end but it was great to have two teams from the club involved in championship finals and we are delighted to have won."

Castleknock A: J O'Shea, E Lyons, T Dixon, L O'Sullivan, C Dillon, A McCartney, C McGee, Seán Ryan, R McCormack, S Keenan, D Warnock, E Brady, D Geraghty, E Crossan, C Corcoran, D O'Keeffe, A Cunningham, D Finn, L McDermott, L Bracken, Sam Ryan.

St Maur's: K O'Connor, K Kelly, F Harford, A Benson, O Mullen, T O'Neill, D Conroy, C Savage, M Hughes, A Kelly, D Brogan, D McNamara, C Archer, C Noonan, N Rock, R O'Shea, G Weldon, D Halpin, C Comiskey, L McGuinness, C Price, P Jones, S Finnegan, A Gaffney.