Friday 18 January 2019

Kilmacud and Setanta march on to 'B' decider

Kilmacud Crokes and Setanta will contest the Dublin Senior 'B' Hurling Championship final following their respective wins in O'Toole Park yesterday.

The opening game of the double-header saw Crokes produce a solid defensive display when beating Naomh Fionnbarra by 0-17 to 0-11.

Kilmacud enjoyed a rather fortuitous two-point lead at the break, with their opponents missing a number of presentable chances including Eamonn Dillon's penalty.

In contrast, Crokes were very economical with Fergal Armstrong landing all his chances from placed balls while Barra Ó Leidhin recorded five critical points from open play over the hour.

At the opposite end of the field, goalkeeper Paddy Tighe proved Kilmacud's saviour when once again repelling Dillon from the spot as the goal that Finbarr's craved remained elusive in the second half.

Amstrong continued to keep Crokes' noses in front and with substitute Liam óg Ó hÉineacháin and Damien Byrne impressing defensively, Kilmacud claimed a seven-point win through late scores from Ó Leidhin and Lorcan McMullan.

The second semi-final was similarly tight with Setanta maintaining their excellent recent form with a hard-fought 0-16 to 1-10 win against Ballyboden St Enda's.

The defensive displays of Fiachra Ó Ceallaigh and David Kearns proved hugely influential for the winners while Cian Fallon worked tirelessly throughout.

Luke Kelly proved accurate from placed balls and with Eric Fallon and Dara de Búrca also to the fore, Setanta's win confirmed their promotion to the 2015 Senior Hurling Championship.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News