Friday 18 January 2019

Keegan and Gleeson get Player of Year gongs

Keegan and Gleeson get Player of Year gongs
Keegan and Gleeson get Player of Year gongs

Mayo's Lee Keegan beat out Dubs Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny to win the Footballer of the Year gong at the GAA/GPA All Stars at the Convention Centre in Dublin last night.

The 27-year-old joins Peter Canavan (1995), Stephen McDonnell (2003) and Bernard Brogan (2010) in winning the Player of the Year award without winning that year's All-Ireland title, which wne to Dublin.

There was a surprise in the hurling as Waterford's Austin Gleeson was the winner of the Hurler of the Year award.

Tipperary star Seamus Callanan was widely tipped to land the prize after a spectacular man of the match display in the All-Ireland final win over Kilkenny that saw him notch 0-9 from play from a 0-13 haul.

Gleeson's all-action displays saw him become the third player after fellow Waterford men Dan Shanahan (2007) and Tony Browne (1998) to win Hurler of the Year without winning that year's All-Ireland. Gleeson also scooped the Young Hurler of the Year honour, making him the second hurler to win both awards in the same year after Clare's Tony Kelly in 2013.

2016 hurling GAA/GPA All Star team: 1 Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), 2 Cathal Barrett (Tipperary), 3. James Barry (Tipperary), 4 Daithi Burke (Galway), 5. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny), 5 Ronan Maher (Tipperary), 7 Padraic Maher (Tipperary), 8 Jamie Barron (Waterford), 9 David Burke (Galway), 10 Walter Walsh (Kilkenny), 11 Austin Gleeson (Waterford), 12. Patrick Maher (Tipperary), 13. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny), 14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary), 15. John McGrath (Tipperary).

Promoted articles

Entertainment News