Monday 23 April 2018

In like Glynn as Déise turn to de Búrca


Galway’s Jonathan Glynn. Pic: Sportsfile
Galway’s Jonathan Glynn. Pic: Sportsfile

Jonathan Glynn's transatlantic odyssey is complete after he was recalled to the Galway attack last night for tomorrow's All-Ireland SHC final showdown with Waterford.

The towering attacker made a big semi-final impact off the bench against Tipperary and now displaces Niall Burke at No 12 on Micheál Donoghue's team.

Glynn has been based in the US for much of the last two years but made a commitment last April to rejoin the squad.

Meanwhile, as widely anticipated, Derek McGrath has made one enforced change for the Deise.

Tadhg de Búrca returns from his one-match ban, supplanting the now-suspended Conor Gleeson who misses out after his red card against Cork.

That means Kieran Bennett retains his place after deputising for de Búrca in the semi-final.

Intriguingly, Bennett is listed as wearing No 18, suggesting that Waterford have temporarily 'retired' Gleeson's No 9 jersey.

GALWAY: C Callanan; A Tuohy, Daithí Burke, J Hanbury; P Mannion, G McInerney, A Harte; J Coen, David Burke; J Cooney, J Canning, J Glynn; C Whelan, C Cooney, C Mannion.

WATERFORD: S O'Keeffe; S Fives, B Coughlan, N Connors; T de Búrca, A Gleeson, Philip Mahony; J Barron, K Bennett; K Moran, Pauric Mahony, J Dillon; Shane Bennett, M Walsh, D Fives.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News