| 0°C Dublin

Goals key for St Vincent's

ST VINCENT'S produced a clinical attacking display as they accounted for Whitehall Colmcille by 3-6 to 0-5 in their Dublin Under-14 Football League Division 7 final at Páirc Naomh Uinsionn last Saturday afternoon.

With both clubs 'A' teams having their scheduled meeting in the Division 1 final lost to the inclement weather, a large crowd descended on Marino and were treated to a vibrant encounter.

It is fair to say that the final scoreline failed to reflect the efforts of the visitors who started brightly with the benefit of the breeze at their backs.


However, their inability to translate plenty of possession into scores ultimately proved their downfall while in contrast, St Vincent's took advantage of any opportunities that came their way with Eoin Dawson netting their opening goal to land a decisive blow.

A second goal arrived soon after through a penalty converted by midfielder Dominic Glennon and when Luca Corrocher added a third before the break, St Vincent's were well on the way to claiming the title.

"We took our chances in the first-half and that was the big difference," said St Vincent's manager Paul Tancred.

"Whitehall had a lot of early pressure but our defence was excellent throughout and when we got chances, we managed to take them," added Tancred.

Despite trailing by nine points at the break, Whitehall continued to persevere upon the restart with David Burke, Seán Lyons, Chris Weir McHugh and James Murphy to the fore but their collective efforts proven in vain.


"We were delighted with how the lads played this year and after finishing the league in top position, it was nice to go on and come through the semi-finals and final," said Tancred.

"The lads have improved a lot as the year has progressed and they have been working hard on their game all year.

"They have matured a lot as well which is hugely helpful and hopefully they can improve again next year, both as a team and as individuals.

"They are progressing nicely and we couldn't be happier with their contributions this year," he concluded.

St Vincent's: D Campbell, D Keogh, S O'Brien, M Lambe, S Tancred, J Kelly, O Fay, E Moore, D Glennon, L Corrocher, A Nolan, S Jevens, E Dawson, B Edwards, G Kelly, R Flynn, C Foley, C O'Brien, C Watters, J Byrne, D Preston.

Whitehall Colmcille: B McGuinness, C Weir McHugh, D Lacey, D Burke, D Gallagher, G Lyons, G O'Hannigan, J Murphy, L Maher, L Doyle, O Murray, P Gourley, S Finn, S Lyons, F Swaine, M Keogh, D Wehrely, S Foran, C Hogan.