Tuesday 23 January 2018

Elliot strikes inch Dubs past Offaly

Aaron Elliot, Dublin, shoots to score his side's first goal of the game
Aaron Elliot, Dublin, shoots to score his side's first goal of the game

Dublin produced a strong final seven minutes to eventually get the better of a stubborn Offaly by five points in their Leinster MFC 1st round clash at Parnell Park last Saturday.

With the sides deadlocked at 1-8 apiece, the Dubs finished in the ascendancy with a goal from Aaron Elliot in the 55th minute effectively settling the contest.

The Dubs struggled in the opening-half against a competent Offaly side that enjoyed an early two point lead thanks to two fine scores by Dylan Hyland.

The hosts replied through Callum Pearson and Shane Howard but some poor shot selection undermined their play with the visitors enjoying a deserved 0-5 to 0-4 interval advantage following a brace of points by Ciaran Maher.

Offaly extended their lead to three points after two Shane Tierney scores within four minutes of the restart but Dublin began to exert some pressure at midfield through Donal McIlgorm and Ben Shovlin and they restored parity by the 41st minute after points from Dillon Keating and Pearson.

Elliot's first goal in the 42nd minute looked to have handed his side a decisive lead but Offaly replied in kind through Jordan Hayes ten minutes later.

However, a John Kindlon point inched the Dubs ahead and after Elliot's second goal, the hosts secured their win through late points by Keating and Kevin Callaghan.

Scorers - Dublin: A Elliot 2-0, D Keating 0-4 (1f), C Pearson (1f), S Howard, K Callaghan 0-2 each, J Kindlon 0-1. Offaly: J Hayes 1-1, C Maher, S Tierney (1f), D Hyland 0-2 each, R Heavin, J Lowry 0-1 each.

Dublin: E Comerford; D Byrne, J O'Hanlon, G McNamara; C Kavanagh, B Howard, O Kelly; D McIlgorm, A Elliot; K Callaghan, B McGarry, T Fox; S Caffrey, C Pearson, D Keating. Subs: S Howard for McGarry (7), B Shovlin for S Howard (27), J Kindlon for Caffrey (45), C Hulton for Pearson (61).

Offaly: K Kinahan; PJ Daly, C Horan, R Hynes; A Keyes, G Smyth, D Dempsey; C Maher, C Mangan; D Hyland, K Higgins, R Heavin; S Tierney, S O'Brien, J Walsh. Subs: J Lowry for Hyland (39), J Hayes for O'Brien (44, BC), M Mooney for Higgins (49), Hyland for Maher (54).

Referee: Stephen Murphy (Louth)

leinster mfc: dublin 2-11 Offaly 1-9

Promoted articles

Entertainment News