Saturday 22 September 2018

Dubs make five changes

DUBLIN have made five changes for their Leinster MFC quarter-final against Wexford in Bellefield, Enniscorthy on Saturday (3.0), writes Rónán Mac Lochlainn.

With Darren Byrne ruled out through injured, James Holland is named at cormer-back. There are four changes in attack due largely to injuries suffered by Barra McGarry, Seán Caffrey and Kevin Callaghan.

Ben Shovlin will line-out at wing-forward with Shane Howard at centre-forward while Paddy Small and Cormac Howley will feature in the inside-forward line.

DUBLIN (MF v Wexford): E Comerford; J Holland, P O'Hanlon, G McNamara; C Kavanagh, B Howard, O Kelly; A Elliott, D McIlgorm; B Shovlin, S Howard, T Fox; P Small, C Howley, D Keating.

BOTH Kildare and Offaly could be forced to play their next two Championship football games at minor level away from home as part of Leinster Council's punishment for the ugly melee that marred the conclusion of their recent MFC encounter.

These are all proposed penalties from the Leinster Council CCC. The various parties have until Friday to seek a hearing.

The punishments are based on referee Stephen Johnson's report, as the video evidence provided didn't indicate anything that could warrant action.

KIERAN DONAGHY has become the second Kerry player to embark on a professional hiatus in favour of concentrating on winning back-to-back All-Ireland titles in 2015.

Donaghy will finish with Ulster Bank this week and has no plans to seek immediate employment. Earlier this year, Darran O'Sullivan left Ulster Bank to take up a role as an athlete mentor with Sky Sports.

Promoted articles

Entertainment News